Continuing World: Year One

Note: The following post was supposed to have seen the light of day last Saturday, but tragedy struck and I lost my internets until Tuesday.

Not amused?

And before I knew it, this blog’s a year old.

Two or three years ago, I never thought I would be blogging about anime. I’ve maintained a personal blog for a couple of years, but interest blogging is an entirely different ballgame. The operative word here is interest–once that candle goes out, there’s no helping you.

However, I had been reading anime blogs on an intermittent basis. Most of them were stray links from forums/imageboards that I frequent, and I still remember some of them, like Shin’s Kyonko entries or the more serious and enlightening Riuva articles. I started an episodic blog months later, but I found writing episode summaries a chore (to those who do, how do you guys keep at it?).

I returned to foruming. I kept being active on AMC, and evolved from a person whom wah once called an idiot to someone wah is indifferent about (great success). I started on checking out the blogs of fellow AMC denizens (mainly digitalboy, omo and TheBigN/dm). None of these people blogged episodically, at least not using the conventional formula of screencaps + summary + commentary. I realized that I could do editorials or series reviews instead!

So I wanted to start an anime blog again. However, my first problem was what to write. Sure, I’m an inveterate mecha fan, but I can’t post entries like “The 10 Weirdest Gundam Weapons” or “Moustache > V-Fin” all the time. I was in luck, then, when a timely /m/ thread talked about anime blogs that /m/en read. The first that came up for reading was We Remember Love, which had the Voltes V entry up on its front page back then. Gold, I thought. While a fan of robots to the core, here’s a man who doesn’t limit himself to them. I decided to make my posting topics more diverse.

And so I started out. I quickly got readers after the first few posts, which was a pleasant surprise. It pressed me to keep on writing, but I soon realized that this wasn’t the way to go. I’m not a blogger who sits down to write a post on regular intervals, as my first attempt at an anime blog proved. I also want to blog about a show that’s less talked about–my aim is to get people to check out these relatively obscure shows. That’s one focus I’m gunning for, and while it keeps me from getting many hits, the awesome comments are worth the damn trouble.

Thanks to this mindset of taking it easy, I’ve never experienced burnout. Based on my past mistakes, I’ve learned that I should blog for fun, and not give myself hard deadlines or excuses to write. I still haven’t perfected my style as I envision it to be, but I don’t have to rush it.

Anime blogging has been a largely rewarding experience. Writing about this passion of mine is cathartic, and kept me from being clinically depressed during bad times. This is my idea of giving back to the community, so to speak. You also get to meet a lot of friends, too, online and offline.

So what’s next? I can see myself experimenting more with new topics, and writing more personal posts on anime I’ve loved (one recent example would be Planetes). As for the robot side of things, I’m slowly, slowly getting into VOTOMS, accompanied by Gasaraki. Maybe next year, I’d have my own domain! I just need to, um, find new work. /o\

PS: I’ve put a proper About page a couple of months ago, which is, as you might have guessed, way overdue.

This entry was posted in Meta and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Continuing World: Year One

  1. omo says:

    it’s always good to read about how you begin doing all this in a clear narrative \o/

    wtb mustache+funnels.

    about episodic blogging–i think the best example of this out there is still psgels. his tastes aside, i think he really knows the key.

  2. saturnity says:

    Not much to say but congrats!

    “Based on my past mistakes, I’ve learned that I should blog for fun, and not give myself hard deadlines or excuses to write.”

    Ironically, trying to take it easy was something that made me more self-conscious about my blog. But yeah, I’d love to hear your thoughts on Planetes; that show just doesn’t get enough attention.

  3. Congrats on a year, schneider! I realized your inherent awesomeness on MTF when you kept talking about great mecha shows and didn’t afraid of anything, so I followed here.

    Lulz at going from ‘person whom wah once called an idiot to someone wah is indifferent about’. Wah still isn’t indifferent towards me really, but he’s moved from calling me an ‘idiot’ to calling me a ‘doofus’ so maybe I’ve made some progress?

  4. wah says:

    I don’t remember calling you an idiot but ok.

    I guess I call a lot of people idiots.

  5. I’ve told ak and emperorj this, but I want to say it again: I feel very cool how we all kind of started at the same time… gaguri too.

    More mecha post pl0x, make it hard core /m/an.

  6. Panther says:

    Congrats on the year man. :)

  7. animekritik says:

    Congratulations! And we ARE expecting that harem mecha pilot post, you know..

  8. Baka-Raptor says:

    I can’t acknowledge this as a true anniversary post unless you backdate it.

  9. 2DT says:

    Congratulations. Just yesterday I was beginning to feel like the bloggers I got to know were dropping like flies, so I’m glad you’re still here and doing your thing. Cheers.

  10. usagijen says:

    “I still haven’t perfected my style as I envision it to be, but I don’t have to rush it.” Darn, now you beat me to it D: Now I’ll have to link to your post once I publish my long-winding introspection xD

    Congrats!!! You’re doing a great job keeping it cool here. Keep it up!

  11. Snark says:

    Grats on the year!

    But yeah, I’d happily read an all mecha blog. Hell, I’d read a blog just about Nether Gundam. That thing was wicked cool.

  12. schneider says:

    @ omo

    Thanks for finding this interesting! Mustache + funnels post huh? With work, it could happen. Lemme check up psgels too.

    @ Saturnity

    What I do is brew post ideas in my mind, until I’ve enough meaningful words to say about them. The process could take weeks, but it’s better than staring at the keyboard until drops of blood form on my forehead!

    @ D-boy

    BROFIST \m/

    @ wah

    When TTGL ended, I made a dumb quip in the thread, so thanks for calling me out on it!

    @ ghostlightning

    Mecha may have slowed down in the past few seasons, but it will never die…

    @ Panther

    Thanks!

    @ animekritik

    It’ll be the hardest post I’m going to make, but it’ll be worth it. Stay tuned~

    @ Baka-Raptor

    Doing… done.

    @ 2DT

    I’m still filled with hope that more bloggers like you would pop up. I await your consumption of Giant Robo with bated breath!

    @ usagijen

    I had great mentors, yay~

    @ Snark

    Comrade! I hope you make more of those awesome robot figure posts.

  13. IKnight says:

    Congratulations!

  14. Shance says:

    Whoa! Yet another one celebrating an anniversary. Did you guys start blogging all at the same time or something?

    Anyways, it’s good to know I’m not the only one with enlightenment on to dissect a show. Kudos for that.

    Cheers for now and the future!

  15. ETERNAL says:

    ‘Grats! Bloggers like you do a great job of prodding me to watch more mecha, and I believe that is a good thing. :P

  16. Pingback: The Scrumptious Anime Blog | Beyond the Blogging Crossroad II: The Woman on the Mirror

  17. schneider says:

    @ Shin

    woot woot

    @ IKnight

    Thanks, those words mean a lot, coming from you!

    @ Shance

    Yeah, I’m really surprised, but what’s more surprising is how we guys tend to stick together…

    @ ETERNAL

    ‘Tis an honor~

  18. foomafoo says:

    I’m obviously late but Congratulations anyway!

    More blogging powah for you!

  19. TheBigN says:

    Congrats man. Taking it easy is a good way to go.

  20. schneider says:

    @ foomafoo, N

    Thanks!

  21. Q says:

    Congrats man. Going into a year of blogging sure isn’t easy!

    As you’ve mentioned, blogging should be done for fun, rather than being like a task that you have to do. Blogging about something that’s less talked about is also a nice idea, as it’s something new that people may get interested about. It’s something I’ve been trying to do now and then for my blog too.

    Keep up the good job mate, and congratulations on your first anniversary!

  22. Yi says:

    Congratulations on one year. ^ ^
    You certainly got me to check out a few obscure mecha series.

  23. Jacques says:

    Congratulations on the one year. Blogging should be something that is be enjoyed and sharing something you loved with everyone, rather than seen as a task/work.

  24. Pingback: Two Years | Continuing World

Leave a Reply

