Hoshi no Samidare: Anything Will Do

[by 黒野祐]

In the Beast Knights, Hyou Shimaki is different. Whereas his comrades’ psychic powers could be used as weapons, Shimaki’s power is purely based on the mind: summoning golems.

I like to think of it as a metaphor for anime blogging.

In the weeks that have passed, I was struggling to come up with a post for Hoshi no Samidare. There’s simply no way I cannot–I love the work, and I now consider it one of my all-time favorite manga. I wanted to write a post with the purpose of encouraging others to pick it up.

The problem is, I couldn’t figure out a proper angle of attack. I was swimming in ideas, but all of them needed serious refinement. Some would force me to spoil everything, which is something I want to prevent.

So while I was rereading key parts of Hoshi no Samidare, looking for more post ideas, I came across this:

[scanlations by Otakami]

Maimakterion wants to fight Shimaki’s golems, because they are the only ones that have a chance of withstanding his attacks. The Beast Knights are no good, he says, because they’ll instantly die if he lands a hit.

Here, Maimakterion just demolished Shimaki’s 8th golem effortlessly. He is angry for being underestimated, and issues an ultimatum. If Shimaki’s next golem proves to be insufficient, Maimakterion will slaughter all of their friends and relatives.

It is no idle threat. While none of the golems before have possessed any sort of intellect, Maimakterion is special. He is free to change his shape freely, and has a mind of his own. He is clearly malicious.

Shimaki ponders the question for ten days. Despite all their previous efforts, Maimakterion has proved to be invincible. It will be difficult. And Shimaki cannot be trained, no more than you can train someone to write poetry. It’s virtually a one-on-one match–everything rests on him and his ability to create golems.

When the day of the battle arrives, Shimaki has found his answer. He manages to create not one, but three golems all at once. None of them look like Animus’ golems.

What is his answer?

“Anything will do.” Where does that lead me? As an anime blogger, it’s always hard for me to write a post. Often I will have to force myself to churn one out, lest I wander off and do something else. I try reading others’ blogs, but that doesn’t do much help. I cannot learn how to blog anime from another person.

Just like that, Shimaki comes up with a solution. When I first read this page, I thought he had given up and decided to wing it. After all, his last golem had been crushed, just like that. Has Shimaki finally broken down?

No. He just realized something important. Shimaki realizes that he had no need to imitate the enemy–all that is required is the mental image of the golem to create. And he had been limiting himself all the time. If he kept on imitating Animus’ golems, he would only become second best.

There may be nothing completely original in this world, but you can draw out something that’s intimately a part of yourself. So I sat down to write this post. Anything will do, as long as it comes from my own experiences. I only need to publish it.

And it’s going to beat my own Maimakterion.

This entry was posted in Manga, Meta and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Hoshi no Samidare: Anything Will Do

  1. mefloraine says:

    About the same conclusion I came to when I started changing Paper Flower into…poetry. But I didn’t have the manga ties to pull in!

    This manga is good…somewhat bizarre but very fun to read. I’m on volume four. I think more people should try the manga~ Glad you ended up finding something to write. :3

  2. Kurotsuki says:

    This post is made of AWESOME !
    Now I need to go back to read Hoshi no Samidare again, while still hoping for Gainax to announce the anime.

  3. TalkingCat says:

    Truly an inspirational post. It really made want to try a little harder at the things I do. Thanks, I guess :3

    Also, It’s pretty hard to encourage someone to try Hoshi no Samidare without using a spoiler page full of awesomeness from the manga. (Or maybe I’m just bad at explaining/wording things that I have to resort to using visual aids.)

  4. 2DT says:

    I’ll get back to this once I finish reading Hoshi no Samidare, promise.

  5. coburn says:

    There’s a lot to like in this manga. I think sometimes when manga like this show you how a character achieves their fulfilment there can be a sort of disconnect with the audience. Like a massive brutal training arc that doesn’t really excite the reader because it’s impossible to empathise with it. I enjoy how the different Beast Knights follow their own paths, not only because it’s easier to find someone to identify with, but because it makes clear the obvious fact that their avenues of effort are all strictly personal affairs.

    There’s this bit somewhere in the early-middle (I think) where we get a page or two from Samidare’s perspective. She’s rocking this sort of assertiveness mantra about threads of time being funnelled through her grasp, her power shaping the future etc. Which I can’t feel for at all, but liked anyway, because it fitted her character and established a sort of benchmark for what the other heroes didn’t have going for them.

    • schneider says:

      I have trouble relating to Samidare as well–it’s like she turns her Lucifer switch on at times (being ridiculously badass in one chapter, and being a vulnerable teenager in the next), and her sentiment of wanting to destroy the world is… eh. It’s like she’s specifically wanting people to stop her.

      • DoctorBaronvonEvilSatan says:

        Makes sense when you remember that Sami was an ill-girl who spent most of her life thinking she was causing trouble for her family.

        • schneider says:

          It does make sense, but it’s still hard to relate to, especially when I’m not an ill girl. “Destroy the world” takes a little bit of stretch to swallow, despite knowing how childish Samidare is.

          Don’t get me wrong–I like her a lot, but she’s way below the relatability scale. That’s all.

      • “It’s like she’s specifically wanting people to stop her.”

        Yeah, I agree, though on the other hand, what I’m curious about is whether Yuuhi really meant it in the beginning. That guy has a rather dark sense of humor after all.

  6. DoctorBaronvonEvilSatan says:

    Oho~ You finally realized this?

    Congratulations on making the first step to adulthood. A world of seinen manga awaits.

    Can you make it until the next level up I wonder?

    • schneider says:

      I don’t really pick up manga on my own, so I rely on other people to point me to the good stuff. If you have anything interesting to share, then please feel free to do so :3

  7. Pingback: Two Years | Continuing World

Leave a Reply

