A Manabi Farewell

A colleague of mine (a fine English gentleman who works in Tokyo) just had his last day at work. He left in order to pursue a doctorate degree in Eastern languages. As me and my Manila teammates worked closely with him for the past half-year, we decided to make a short send-off video for him.

It involved people delivering their personal messages in sign language. I, being the weeaboo that I am, chose to deliver my message in Japanese (he does know more about it than I do, too), written in a placard. Now, what kind of message should I write?

This is what I came up with.

I spent quite a while explaining to my teammates what my message meant. “Massugu Go” roughly means “go straight ahead”. In her show, Manabi is a girl who pierces through the heart of a bored, lackadaisical studentry with her enthusiasm. My colleague has a goal–get his doctorate degree–and I only want him to go for it. Who knows if my colleague has a “Dr.” attached to his name the next time I hear of him?

It’s a little funny, but I’m amazed with how Manabi’s words came to me in my time of need. I’m bad at saying goodbyes, and I might have gone along with something terribly cheesy like “Farewell! Wherever you fare, till your eyries receive you at the journey’s end!” Instead, “Massugu Go” is short, sweet and gets the point across. I wonder if other people get the opportunity to use anime catchphrases for timely moments like these.

So thank you, Manabi, for giving me the words to say when nothing else would come out.

This entry was posted in Anime, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Manabi Farewell

  1. Beautiful. Massugu Go has always remained one of the most powerful phrases I’ve had the pleasure of knowing, and so much more practical than any of the great Gurren Lagann quotes. Manabi truly has one of the most lasting messages in anime.

  2. I haven’t seen the show, but I get the sentiment. GJ.

  3. DoctorBaronvonEvilSatan says:

    Did you say it like Manami did?

    >”I wonder if other people get the opportunity to use anime catchphrases for timely moments like these.”

    All the time.

  4. ToastCrust says:

    I’m still trying for a day where I could recite that iconic quote to Garma in a situation that’d live up to it.

  5. Pingback: Aniblog Stuff – Round 1 – Day 10

Leave a Reply

