The iDOLM@STER Half-time Report

I have a confession to make: I never thought I would be blogging this show in earnest.

Basically, I picked The iDOLM@STER up on a whim. I had a bit of knowledge with the franchise, so I decided that this proper im@s anime (and not the Xenoglossia one) would be a good place to start as any.

The first episode was all kinds of brilliant. It had a delicate balancing act for introducing each of the characters, and you were acquainted with everyone at the end. I liked it so much that I thought about the top three girls who stood out in that episode (not as easy as you’d think), and came up with the first rankings post. It’s “totally not filler”, my tagging proclaimed.

To this date, the tag is already outdated, yet I still keep it there as a lovable formality. I don’t really do episodic blogging ‘yo, but if you look at the first page of this blog right now, all you’ll see are the weekly ranking posts!

I guess I didn’t expect to like the show this much. It’s brimming with love–the staff clearly respects the source material and the fun they have while making the show manifests clearly every week. I’m told that director Atsushi Nishigori is a big Miki fan, and there’s plenty of evidence in the show to support that. And did I mention that his character designs rock my socks off?

So, some thoughts on the rankings so far. I’m using a weighted score where 1st place in the week nets 3 points, 2nd place nets 2 points, and so on.

The highest rankers are Miki (14 points), then Chihaya (12), then Iori (11). Iori was consistently strong until Miki’s little arc, and has fallen out of the show’s attention due to her involvement in Ryuuguu Komachi. I’m pretty indifferent to the Kugyuu-machine but Iori’s a great character, plus she reminds me of another bossy rich girl. Chihaya has good presence, serving to remind the audience that idols are srsbzns and being someone whom we could easily root for. Miki has a very pronounced personality (love it or hate it), owning the most *wow* moments in the show.

Curiously enough, the last three episodes were dominated by Haruka, Miki, and Chihaya. These idols are main character material and stand on their own. I was initially apprehensive of Haruka’s vanilla flavor, but she quickly grew as a sweet, positive presence in the show. Miki has had the most character development, since she figured centrally in a multi-episode arc. Chihaya has to be the most “unique” of the girls, given that she’s serious, passionate, yet solitary instead of overbearing (which usually comes with the straight-laced attitude).

I really like Yayoi. She has the biggest heart out of everyone! She’s at fourth, having 9 points.

Takane hasn’t gotten her own episode yet, but she sits at a comfortable 7 points. She’s actually one of the idols I’d follow on principle, as she’s mature, classy, and quite weird.

Ami and Mami haven’t gotten any points yet, despite having an episode already. I don’t think they’re bad, but I’d pick any of the girls over them.

Hibiki and Ritsuko need an episode! I want to see Ritsuko during her idol days, if that’s possible. A Kotori episode would be great, too.

There’s a lot more to love about The iDOLM@STER, and I approach the second half with great enthusiasm. ARE YOU READY? I’M LADY!

This entry was posted in Anime, The iDOLM@STER Weekly Character Rankings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The iDOLM@STER Half-time Report

  1. lelangir says:

    i love the haruka/chihaya combo. they make such an interesting pair. i used to dislike miki but now im a hueg mikifag.

Leave a Reply

