Guilty Crown: I’ll Take Whatever Mecha I Can Get

Any complaints about the show with regards to it being a ripoff of Code Geass should be addressed to this guy, which should explain everything.

I’m not here to rant on Guilty Crown’s story. The story did nothing for me, and infuriated me at times. I’m here to talk about the mecha. There are three types of mechs in the show so far: the military mechs, the rebel mechs, and Fyu-Neru.

Fyu-Neru is a compact R2-D2/Tachikoma thing, and none of the giant robots are piloted from a cockpit. I like this.

The Military

The first time I saw these mechs, I thought of how small they were. Well, they aren’t, because that’s their skating-in-high-speeds mode. This makes perfect sense. By lowering its profile and center of gravity, a mech can go faster. As these mechs subscribe to the Ryousuke Takahashi “Why Walk When You Can Skate?” rule, this is an improvement!

One of them has a pile bunker. That’s a real robot weapon, you get what I’m saying? That still didn’t work well, though.

The only shortcoming these mechs have in my mind is that they don’t have any real anti-personnel weapons. Well if they had, then Inori wouldn’t have gotten very far, right?

The Rebels

What’s good about the rebel mechs is that they look different from their military counterparts, yet you can still claim that they came from the same show. Both aren’t rigidly biped, have non-human hands, and enjoy launching missiles at each other. The chaingun mounted underneath the mech’s upper torso is splendid–it should be able to use it even while grappling an enemy. It does look like it could also fold, but we didn’t see that in the first episode.

I’m looking at the head unit and all it reminds me is a Kapool. This shot turns into a scale comparison as it pans down to Gai. The mechs in this show are deceptively big.

Fyu-Neru

…makes for a nifty self-defense option. It does look like a futuristic rice cooker though.

But seriously?

This is just… yeah. The insertion of this scene utterly killed my mecha boner.

Mecha started with people controlling mechs from the outside. Later on, some shmuck named Go Nagai decided to put the human in the robot, giving birth to a long list of violent cockpit deaths. That’s already a post begging to be written there.

Anyways, it does seem that the mechs in this show are controlled via brainwaves. And these controllers are put in what looks like a high-tech coffin. Uh-oh. I wonder what happened to the controller of those mechs that got blown up.

Hoping to see more mecha in this show. The story I don’t like, but as long as the production values continue to deliver, I’ll keep on watching!

This entry was posted in Anime, Manga and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Guilty Crown: I’ll Take Whatever Mecha I Can Get

  1. Infinite Ryvius had the right idea, in that remote piloting kept the skilled assets safer and made material losses only material losses. However, they made the Vital Guarder connected so very closely to the Lift Ship and thus making the pilots still under a lot of physical danger. Thus, the tension remains high.

    If the pilot is soooo remote, then we’re left with brainfrying as the primary tension source, or some other nerve connection that makes the female pilots who somehow are still required to wear skin-tight jumpsuits to writhe as if being boned.

    The mecha here seem to be from two traditions:

    VOTOMS and Ghost in the Shell. This shouldn’t be too surprising how this is a Production I.G. work with Sunrise veterans involved. The Engagement Suit in Sacred SeveN is the immediate predecessor of these, as well as the Tachikoma of course.

    • schneider says:

      Atsushi Takeuchi, this show’s mecha designer, also worked on the GitS movies. The rebel mechs do carry some of the aesthetic.

      I should really start on Sacred Seven one of these days.

    • >If the pilot is soooo remote, then we’re left with brainfrying as the primary tension source, or some other nerve connection that makes the female pilots who somehow are still required to wear skin-tight jumpsuits to writhe as if being boned.

      The obvious downside is that the pilots aren’t inside the mech, so there’s nothing stopping some infrantrymen from locating them, which shouldn’t be too hard, since they’re being controlled wirelessly, so it’s just a matter of finding where the signals are coming from, and shooting them while they’re in the cockpit, and there’s nothing that the pilots can do about it since their robots are so far away, so, if they’re not adequately guarded, they’re sort of fucked. It’s been used in Avatar, Narutaru, and, while not quite involving anything controlled remotely, Fate/Zero.

  2. animekritik says:

    Interesting. But if you hate the story I think you’ll drop this in the end, as cool as the mechas may be, no?

  3. I decided to watch this because I heard it was a mecha series by Pro I.G., but I was so distracted by the Code Geass shenanigans that I forgot that there were mechs. Thanks for reminding me.

  4. Huntsman says:

    Thanks for this post. I did pay attention to the mechs myself, but it’s nice to see a case by case analysis and commentary.

    And while I don’t hate the story, I’m mostly waiting to see what they do with it after the obvious introductory arc or so, which should probably take at least one or two more episodes, and see whether or not it takes the most obvious route or actually tries a couple of new (or at least unusual) tricks.

  5. kluxorious says:

    Production IG saves the show with these mechas and stunning animation. Otherwise it has nothing to show off

  6. WhatSht says:

    Not much to say, except that the Fyu-Neru looks like a Haro with skates.

Leave a Reply

