Psycho-Pass and the Insta-Wardrobe

Insta-food

Psycho-Pass is okay. The format is not unlike Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex’s, which is an old favorite of mine. The big difference is that Akane is Togusa acting on the Major’s role. That, and I’m committed to following HanaKana’s career…

Anyway, episode 2 backs up a bit on the action and gives us a peek into Akane’s private life. I’d like to think that there’s more to this show than cribbing off from Minority Report, and it doesn’t disappoint.

Jellyfish personal assistant

First, let’s talk about the jellyfish. Why is there a cute jellyfish? Who picked it? Is this a Kuragehime crossover? Those were my thoughts when it appeared. I had to do a double-take to see that Akane keeps a bunch of jellyfish paraphernalia in her flat. I guess she likes ‘em!

Her flat is rather bare, and there’s nothing much to it. The redecoration was pretty, but also sad.  My guess is that Akane just moved in, because of her job.

The Insta-wardrobe

It’s not just the flat. It’s the clothes. The clothes shocked the hell out of me, and I can’t help but think how problematic it is. I’m not really sure if they’re real or just a holograph. Akane walks in front of the mirror with her Inspector attire on, she takes out the control device from a pocket twice, but how can such advanced technology exist? It’s not like she’s changing colors because she was able to switch from pants to a skirt. Holo-fabrics! My guess is that her office attire can change appearances, which would make sense on the field. Also, she changed clothes in public. Real-world customs make that unacceptable, even if the changing is seamless and takes a second to complete. How okay is that?

How do these technological advancements affect people? You can make your flat look like anything you want it to be, but isn’t the significance lost when it’s just a hologram? Where have all the interior designers gone? In the real world, the hotel-styled ambiance would require special care and attention, but Akane gets it from a simple voice command. What about clothes? Do people not miss putting them on? I like putting on clothes. It’s like preparing for battle, a ritual of sorts.

Also, the production committee is totally lying. This show is totally moe.

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Psycho-Pass and the Insta-Wardrobe

  1. Hums says:

    If you watch the OP closely she has some white bikini thing on. I think that’s what she’s actually wearing and the clothes are a hard light projection maintained by the projectors in her room and all over the city. Though we see the doctor character slipping her panty hoes back on so there are some people that wear normal clothes and the old detective made the remark that people Akane’s age are used to the holograms. So it’s probably something introduced in the last 20 or so years that not everyone uses.

    • schneider says:

      I don’t know what to make out of the OP yet. It could be imagery that has little to do with the actual story (or be revealed much later). Good observation on the old Enforcer’s words, though.

  2. dliessmgg says:

    “You can make your flat look like anything you want it to be, but isn’t the significance lost when it’s just a hologram?”
    I’d love to babble about signifier and signified but I’ve never actually read Derrida or somesuch :/

  3. Digibro says:

    Haven’t watched this yet but let me tell you, if I could hologram whatever anime pictures I want all over my room and not have to buy a shitload of crappy posters, that would be sublime. Hell if I can render figures instead of dropping a hundred bucks on them, I’m going for that. The real question is how ridiculous can you get with this? Fill your entire room with holographic tits, floor to ceiling?

    • schneider says:

      Oh God I wish WordPress had a “Like comment” function

      I could decorate my room with mai waifu and switch it out with something more tasteful when a visitor comes in!

  4. Turambar says:

    Trying to rationalize the global economic impact of the complete obsoletion of the textile industry is blowing my mind.

  5. DoctorBaronvonEvilSatan says:

    Development of focused EMP projectors would have been spurred on by perverts.

Leave a Reply

