LOLWUT BONES??

I’ve been a BONES fan ever since Witch Hunter Robin aired on local TV in 2004. Eureka Seven was also the first anime that I downloaded, and still remains as one of my absolute favorites. And I consider RahXephon to be better than Evangelion (though I shouldn’t really be comparing both shows), at least in terms of ending impact.

I love BONES to death, but they always manage to do something I can never truly prepare myself for: it’s their amazing capacity to depict violence in a very lolwut manner.

Consider this shoddy animated GIF I made out of a scene from Xam’d episode 14. It is a serious spoiler, and I think you should see it for yourself while watching the show. Xam’d is one of the best shows of 2008, and it’s a shame that not many people follow it.

The fact that the scene isn’t that gory compared to other shows that display wanton violence isn’t the point. The point is, it came out of fucking nowhere. A blow that I didn’t see coming, and it floored me. None of my capacity to stomach blood and gore prepared me for it.

Come on, BONES has made more icky stuff. RahXephon episode 19. Eureka Seven’s Mr. & Mrs. Beams. They were bloody and all, but they were entirely foreshadowed in their corresponding episodes. Xam’d ep 14 lulled me into a false sense of security: there’s a scene where an antagonist redeems himself by buying soda for his friends. At this point I feel relieved. He’s changed, I think. He doesn’t blame his best friend anymore for being Friend Zone’d by the girl he likes. Then soldiers charge and hold him at gunpoint. I ask myself what he’s going to do now. He’s gonna fight them, I predict.

And then it happens. OHSHI-, indeed.

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to LOLWUT BONES??

  1. SRWfreak says:

    rahXephon?! is that a gory suparobo show? i dunno, only seen it in SRW… whats this Xam’d? neva heard of it, wierd title and all… Is it like weiss kreuz?

  2. SRWfreak says:

    the shoddy pic?! its kinda fucked up… I mean WHY would that guy decapitate his own head, ala-nube-sensei?! ZETSUBO SHITA!! people taking away their own heads has left me in despair!!

  3. schneider says:

    RahXephon isn’t gory, but it’ll shock you.

    Xam’d is like Eureka Seven with weird humanoid thingies instead of surfing robots.

  4. SRWfreak says:

    kewl, being SRWfreak, ill watch RahX first… that show wasnt very popular, was it? is eureka 7 BONES’s only award-winning anime?

  5. schneider says:

    Not sure about the awards, but there are a lot of good BONES shows, and they’re cranking out even more as I type this.

Leave a Reply

