The Studio Ghibli Experience

Good news: Continuing World is one month old! I’ve yet to find my own blogging style, but I’m getting there. No need to rush it. For my monthsary post I shall be talking about my experience with the wonderful world of Studio Ghibli. In a month, I’ve watched a total of 7 movies, which I’ll be talking about in the order that I’ve watched them. Pics to come later.

Nausicaa of the Valley of Wind

Technically not a Ghibli movie, but impossible not to lump in with the rest of them. Nausicaa wowed me with its beautiful, hostile world. Also, tentacle rape. Its themes are still largely relevant today, if not even more important than it was when it first showed.

Princess Mononoke

The best-known Ghibli work. Had a degree of violence far more extreme than Nausicaa, which was almost too lolwut for me. But I can’t complain. Animation and music are top-notch. While I felt San to be a bit wooden, Ashitaka is just all kinds of badass rolled into one package. More tentacle rape.

Porco Rosso

My personal favorite. Porco is a fun protagonist with a bit of Roald Dahl (who’s one of my favorite childhood reads) thrown in. Flashy dogfights and an Akio Ohtsuka rival are always win in my book. And Fio totally stole the show for me! The ending left me sputtered out, though, but if the last scene of Porco would be any indicator, then… ❤ end

Spirited Away

I was forewarned that this was overrated, but fortunately my mind blocked out any snarky comments to be made by my subconscious, allowing me to enjoy this fully. Chihiro is just as brave as Nausicaa while being much younger and I admire her for it. It isn’t everyday a kid gets to save her parents without getting superpowers! Lots of endearing weird stuff  in this movie to love.

Whisper of the Heart

An ordinary film executed superbly. Whisper is basically a falling-in-love story but the imagery it exudes puts it on a tier of its own. Shizuku ranks as my top Ghibli girl, just for never giving up and writing a novel while still in middle school. The scene in which she’s singing with Seiji’s violin and then three old guys appear and join in with instruments of their own = adorable fun. Remind me to watch the cat movie spinoff soon.

Kiki’s Delivery Service

The premise is too cute for me to pass it up. Plus, painter girl in the woods was hot. Not much else to say but magical~

Pom Poko

I thought I had seen everything crazy from Ghibli, enduring at least two tentacle rape scenes BUT NO!

FLYING TRANSFORMING RACCOON TESTICLES!

I know they aren’t really raccoons, though. Massively funny, even if it got pretty depressing in the end. The tanuki remind me of Tolkien’s hobbits: always playful, quick-tempered, but never truly malicious. I’ll have to bug my goddamn weaksauce brother (he fell asleep halfway, the sacrilege!) to watch it again.

What’s next?

I’m still not sure, but I’m leaning on Ocean Waves, then Laputa, then Totoro, then maybe Howl. The Cat Returns could be anywhere in the queue. What do you think?

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Studio Ghibli Experience

  1. Worryingly, the only two of these that I’ve seen are the tentacle rape ones. I love the mix of medieval armour, giant flying machines and bizarre organic life in Nausicaa.

    And happy monthsary!

  2. ghostlightning says:

    Congratulations Schneider! Make sure Continuing World continues!

    I haven’t seen “Whisper…” and “Pom Poko” but I’ve seen most of the rest.

    Kiki for the win. Seriously.

    WATCH TOONARI NO TOTORO. Damn you. Damn you to hell.

    And yes, Ocean Waves will reward you for being human.

  3. schneider says:

    Whisper is very heartwarming, and Pom Poko is just lols. Watch the latter with a friend for maximum effect.

    Hmm Totoro… checking.

Leave a Reply

