Carry On, K-On

Hot pick is hot

The idea of a band anime resonates well with me, moreso in a high school setting. To give you a background, my high school was a breeding ground for aspiring musicians, and a good number of students lugged guitars around, playing simple rock songs during their free time (me included). I even belonged to a group of friends where a good half were in the band club.

So, I’m very interested in K-On. These girls aren’t Mary Sue-good, but I want to see their development, not just on the musical level. Being a band is not just about making music, it’s also a support group that’ll give some flavor into your life. It’s something our little protagonist Yui needs, and by the end I hope to see what she’s truly made of.

Difference in musical styles aside, K-On also reminds me of ZONE.

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Carry On, K-On

  1. foomafoo says:

    Sadly, I don’t know how to play any instrument. But, I guess you can call me a frustrated musically inclined person 🙂 . @topic, I want to see how Yui’s going to develop into some awesome guitarist since she is a real worthless as of now.

  2. Turambar says:

    I found the first episode fairly meh. The humor was fairly hit or miss for the most part and the whole band aspect of the show didn’t seem to make much of an appearance. That said, it’s just the first episode and I’m still interested in exactly where it is going.

    And yes, I’ll hop on the giant band wagon and declare Mio mai waifu.

  3. I’m totally with you. K-on is made of much win, and my being a music guy has to do with such love.

  4. animekritik says:

    everytime i see someone gagging over mio i smile inside, because i know ritsu is the real catch here!

  5. schneider says:

    @ foomafoo

    I hope Yui gets better, but not probably not Haruhi-good. That’s only cheating.

    @ Turambar

    I didn’t watch this as a comedy. Problem solved. 😛

    @ D-Boy

    Music makes everything worthwhile!

    @ animekritik

    Her forehead is a bit too big for me, but isn’t a bad character at all.

  6. Pontifus says:

    Interesting screencap, as it illustrates a concern of mine: why do so many bass players in anime use picks? I’m vehemently anti-pick (most of the time, anyway).

    Sorry, that was irrelevant. Re: Turambar, I actually thought it was pretty funny. If anything, my complaint would be that they didn’t have enough problems getting the band together in the first place, though I expect Yui’s ineptitude isn’t going to help.

  7. Turambar says:

    Well, my main problem with the episode was simply with Yui. Her character’s behavior was so moefied (is that a word?) that it felt a little unnecessary and a bit annoying to me. For example, the final scene where the other 3 are setting up and Yui sits there rocking back and forth making baby noises.

    But like I said, it definitely does interest me, and I enjoyed the Mio/Ritsu scenes quite a lot.

  8. animekritik says:

    @Turambar

    ultimately irrelevant to your changing your opinion, i know, but just to be clear, there are three billion girls like Yui in Japan as we speak (right down to the funky walking). So at least it’s keeping it real.

  9. Pingback: K-ON ~~~ ZONE « Baka Steam

  10. Pingback: The End of K-On « Continuing World

  11. Tony says:

    Does anyone know if there are any new K-ON episodes in progress or any news about a new season? Because I’ve been hearing stuff that a new season is in progress. GREAT SHOW BTW, FELL IN LOVE WITH IT BY THE SECOND EPISODE.

  12. Tony says:

    Ah damn it, well I think they will make new episodes later on because the manga is still going, oh well fingers crossed 🙂

Leave a Reply

