HK Subs Are Better Than Nothing

Netherlands!

I’m fond of watching obscure mecha shows. Being obscure, there are a complete lack of subs for many of them, while some are being subbed by a loosely-knit group of /m/en (a labor of love for the most part, considering that their audience is almost completely composed of fuckwads). I want to watch this show, but a quick-and-dirty search yields nothing.

Do I give up? No, for there is one last resort: HK subs. Badly-encoded, minimal typesetting, erroneous karaoke, and very very lol translation, HK subs make even “mass naked child events” look nothing. They can’t even get the names right. But that’s what I have a brain for.

I wonder what it is called

Because compared to no subs, lol subs are better.

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to HK Subs Are Better Than Nothing

  1. Tachyon says:

    I admire your steadfast fandom but I’m not able to use the HK fansubs. I downloaded episodes for Mazinger Z and tried watching the first episode but I couldn’t do it. The doofus translation just didn’t do it for me.

  2. Carmilla says:

    whyt is this post so awesome lol

  3. animekritik says:

    d’you know what the mecha is supposed to be saying instead of “I’ll send you to the netherlands”??

  4. animekritik says:

    well, maybe a pious christian subbed this. then netherlands = netherworld indeed…

  5. animekritik says:

    @The Animanachronism

    I’ll probably be shot for saying this, but my understanding is that Calvinism is on its deathbed, in the Netherlands, the US and elsewhere. Predestination is not PC…

  6. sadakups says:

    It’s true, although these are the times when I wish I knew the language. It’s less painful that way.

  7. Pingback: Surviving the Town of Duwang (It’s Beautiful) | Continuing World

Leave a Reply

