I Went Shopping In Yokohama And All I Got Was This Lousy Picture

It's not really what you think.

It took me a long time to get into Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou (Yokohama Shopping Log)–I knew a lot of people who swore by it, but nothing really caught me, aside from the fact that Alpha Hatsuseno, the main character, is a robot.

And then I finally plunged in, a few weeks ago. Alpha is a great lead. She’s got neat personality quirks that make her more flesh-and-blood than most fictional characters, and she’s just oozing with pleasant charm. Maybe it’s the scooter. Maybe it’s the shades. Maybe it’s how she fusses over that adorable camera.

Maybe I just wanted an excuse to use the above picture.

The best thing about YKK, however, is that it offers enjoyment in multiple layers. You could just read it and admire the art, or you could dig deeper and allow yourself to be swept by the permeating mono no aware in the work. It’s infinitely happy and sad–time works both ways, deepening human relationships but eventually leaving immortal, ageless Alpha behind in their passing.

I’m done talking now. Read it for yourself. This is as serious an endorsement as any.

This entry was posted in Manga and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Went Shopping In Yokohama And All I Got Was This Lousy Picture

  1. otou-san says:

    YKK is one of those that made my favorites list so quickly and easily I can only second you.

    I’m catching slight YKK vibes from this season’s Sora no Woto anime, incidentally — it doesn’t have that “iyashikei” vibe but the mono no aware / mysteriously post-apocalyptic world is there. I suppose it’s always going to feel cheaper since it’s got the obligatory cast of cute girls, but not bad so far.

    But I digress… YKK… I think I might read it again soon.

  2. 2DT says:

    I just love the huge food.

    “Hey, want a CHESTNUT??”

  3. ToastCrust says:

    Which translation did you go with?

  4. TheBigN says:

    I’m more of a fan of Kokone myself, but Alpha is indeed plenty awesome.

  5. schneider says:

    I like Kokone a lot too, since she brings out the best in Alpha. 😛

  6. Zeroblade says:

    Ah man, Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou. I watched the two OVA’s, but the torrent with the manga just kind of died, and I was too lazy to get it after that. And I was just about to get to getting it again, then the two major projects looming over me served as a reminder for me not to loaf around marathoning manga orz.

  7. Pingback: Gardener to an empty castle (in the sky) | Continuing World

Leave a Reply

