A Brief Interlude

I was looking for an image to post in this entry, and then I found this screencap. It was practically made for this post.

I’m supposed to sleep early, but insomnia woke up at this ungodly hour. My imaginary doctor told me to write a most unguarded post, so here it is.

Let me say two things:

I love anime.

I love blogging anime.

This love is not a raging inferno like maverick blogger Digiboy‘s, but rather a steady, burning flame. It may grow small over time, but I only need to put a little kindling. This kindling came in the form of watching a mecha/sci-fi OP compilation on Youtube.

You probably know me as a big mecha nut, but watching this OP compilation humbled me. There is still a large number of great shows I haven’t seen yet. And the paradox is that as I continue to remedy this, the number will only continue to grow bigger.

It’s rather hard to explain to most of my RL friends, who gently poke fun at me for keeping an anime-related blog. “Seriously man, you blog about anime?” they might say. I don’t suppose they’ll understand any soon, but I thank them for keeping me grounded.

But as I see it, writing in this blog is a necessity for me. It is a cure for loneliness; it gives me a window to talk about shows I have no flesh-and-blood companion to talk to.

So, thank you for reading this blog. I don’t see myself leaving anytime soon.

This entry was posted in Meta, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Brief Interlude

  1. You also love tweeting Pixiv like a girl LOL

    Power to the Dream bro!

  2. I’m a maverick blogger

    On the run from X

  3. >”. . . to talk about shows I have no flesh-and-blood companion to talk to.”

    You need to hang out with us more.

    Because we talk about these shows. Non-stop. Maybe even some shows you don’t watch.

  4. Canne says:

    Similar to you, I always get strange look from my RL friends when I tell them that I blog about anime. And it’s because I can’t talk to anyone about my anime passion, I need my blog.

    And here I am, commenting in your blog, in a post written in ungodly hour. 🙂

  5. 2DT says:

    You know, occasionally I would worry, because I often see critics of the ani-blogosphere say that its members like blogging about anime more than they like anime itself, and I would wonder: Is that me? Am I inevitably spiraling into loathing the likes of what I see on ANN or that Chris Solomon guy on Amazon?

    But then I wake up and realize, well, no. No, I’m absolutely not. If anything, blogging enhances my enjoyment and makes me a healthier, happier person than I would be if I kept it all to myself. So nyah to them. 🙂

    • schneider says:

      Don’t worry. If you ever lose your way, I’ll be the one to cut you down.

      My love for blogging is fueled for my love for anime, so there’s no problem there~

  6. Jacques says:

    The screencap pretty much sums up the dilemma that I always suffer from while trying to experiment with some modding.

    I find that through blogging, you can at least find more like-minded people who share similar interest/hobby as compared to RL.

  7. Yi says:

    I don’t share my blog with any RL friends because I don’t expect them to understand anime or blogging about anime… And they don’t.

    Anyways, keeping a blog has enhanced my anime experience for sure. But like 2DT mentioned, I just hope I don’t end up enjoying blogging more than anime itself.

  8. Janette says:

    But as I see it, writing in this blog is a necessity for me. It is a cure for loneliness; it gives me a window to talk about shows I have no flesh-and-blood companion to talk to.

    Wonderful quote.

  9. AstroNerdBoy says:

    “There is still a large number of great shows I haven’t seen yet. And the paradox is that as I continue to remedy this, the number will only continue to grow bigger.”

    Heh! Ain’t that the truth. My backlog is absolutely insane.

  10. sdshamshel says:

    While a good portion of my friends IRL are nerds or at least part-nerd and so understand the whole blogging thing, I do wonder sometimes what it’d be like if the topic came up at a school reunion or something.

    Awkward, most likely, and probably even a good deal of nervousness, but I’m sure both you and I can work through these feelings.

Leave a Reply

