An Interesting Elective

I was in a mall earlier and in my natural habitat, which is in front of a computer. The PC wasn’t up to today’s gaming standards, so I contented myself to go video-hopping in YouTube.

It didn’t take long for me to run into a sakuga (key animator) MAD. At first I thought it was an ordinary MAD, but the clips shown belonged to unrelated anime, the only common factor being that they all contained some high-quality animation scenes.

I kept watching a few more, and got hooked. When these MAD makers take out the sound and replace it with songs of their choosing, my brain processes the visuals and sounds separately, so I can focus more on the animation detail. It’s a wonderful learning tool, and I can use it to discover shows I’ve never seen or heard.

Maybe I should acquaint myself with more of these wonderful key animators. If I could watch anime for the seiyuu, I could definitely watch them for the sakuga. This is all in view with my “broadening perspectives” philosophy.

Oh, and here’s the video in question. I didn’t know Pretty Cure looked this good!

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to An Interesting Elective

  1. That video was head-explodingly fucking amazing. Not only did this guy do great moments in Strike Witches and some aweosme fights, but also my FAVORITE ANIMATED MOMENT OF ALL TIME, the Kurenai song. Fucking amazing, thank you so much for sharing this!!!

    On that note, I highly recommend watching Hiroyuki Imaishi videos. They never fail to amaze even if you’ve seen all the shows a hundred times.

  2. Been watching a ton of the vids of this animator, man. No one has ever jumped onto my radar this fast!

  3. ToastCrust says:

    Yeah, Pre-cure’s really well-animated action’s kind of what put it on the map and distinguished it from a lot of the other Magical Girl shows of it’s generation.

    Sort of in the same way that Nanoha and it’s high-detailed robotics motif helped it stand out, a few years later.

  4. That might be a bad idea. While the animation was great, Gunslinger Girl -Il Treano- was nowhere as good as the first one.

    And Pretty Cure 5 wasn’t as good as Splash Star in my opinion. Splash Star was great.

  5. ETERNAL says:

    Now this is what I call a Good Idea. I know what I’m doing when I get home :3

  6. Scamp says:

    Huh, I never realised this style of animation was all done by the same guy. Not sure if I’m a fan of it though. I always thought the Kurenai characters moved like they had vibrators shoved up their backsides

Leave a Reply

