Why I Am Watching SD Gundam RoTK

I’ve been following a lot of shows this season, but I am enjoying one show for its dubious virtue of bringing me more enjoyment than my age should ever allow me to.

That show is SD Gundam Sangokuden Brave Battle Warriors, or SD Gundam RoTK for short.

Yes, it is nothing more than a ploy to sell toys to [man]children. The epic, sprawling RoTK story is rendered in a kiddie Eastern fantasyland with dragons and magical artifacts. The inhabitants of this world are robots who are all but human in their mannerisms. Obviously this is not the novel we know, but at least SD Gundam RoTK doesn’t play the genderswap card.

So why am I watching it? Because it is awesome. Toy commercial or not, the prospect of seeing Gundam mecha reimagined as RoTK characters gives me a strange joy. It might be shallow and dumb, but it’s cheap thrills galore.

Here we have Huang Gai, one of the most badass characters in the RoTK novel, turned into a Gouf, which is just as equally hardcore. And he has a beard. This midget robot is already manlier than me and you.

Messala, Pallace Athene, and Bolinoak Sammahn are the Zhang Brothers, and they combine into The O. Bandai must really hate Scirocco, as this bozo (and the entire Yellow Turban Rebellion arc) is trashed by episode 3.

On the other end of the spectrum, we have Diao Chan Qubeley. I suppose she’ll fight with funnels. And considering the type of show she’s in? Almost a given.

Image spam aside, The show has this formula that says “replace all the politics and boring adult stuff with FIGHTING, AND MORE FIGHTING”. One crucial scene in the novel is when Cao Cao attempts to assassinate Dong Zhuo by presenting him with the Seven Star Sword. Dong Zhuo sees through the trick at the last minute, and Cao Cao barely escapes with his life, talking his way out of the mess. In this show, however, subtlety is thrown out of the window, and Cao Cao announces his plan right from the start (Lu Bu interferes, of course). It works like a charm, and you see some cheap fireworks later, with called attacks for a good measure. That episode certainly shaved off 15 years from my life.

And if that’s not enough, this show is less than 10 minutes an episode, minus the OP/ED. It’s certainly short enough not to punish you for watching it, and I see myself eagerly awaiting for more.

This entry was posted in Anime, Mecha and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why I Am Watching SD Gundam RoTK

  1. Indeed, this show is quite awesome. I would be watching it myself if I watched things.

  2. Naurtaki says:

    He isn’t just any Gouf, he is Rumble Ral!!

  3. Gunstray says:

    Zhuge Liang, I f-wking hope he gets introduced sooner or later, then again kids hate boring tactic speak! And red cliff was a bad ass
    movie

  4. Lololei says:

    You forgot to mention Lu Bu is a motherfucking Tallgeese. Awesomest shit ever

Leave a Reply

