My ever-growing backlog for the latter half of 2010

Work has been tough for the past few weeks, but I won’t allow myself to stay down! Here’s something to look forward to, something for me to keep in mind as I make do with what little free time I have (aside from updating my super secret Tumblr… ohwait). Finishing all of these in half a year would be a tall order, but that shouldn’t discourage me from having fun.

Things to start:

  • Serial Experiments Lain – I guess I should finally start on this.
  • The Vision of Escaflowne – While I have seen a good bit of this show, I never really saw all of it. Perplexing, when it’s packed with my favorite people in the industry (Kawamori, Kanno, Sakamoto, Seki). Also, UNMEI KAIHEN
  • Brain Powered – Flying naked babes, Akino Murata, and some Grade-A LOLTOMINO of the unpalatable kind. Perfect.
  • Last Exile – Sochie expy? Why am I not on this yet?
  • Megazone 23 – *shrug*
  • Black Lagoon – Time to fill the well of action again.
  • Kino’s Journey – And thought-provoking episodics.
  • Space Runaway Ideon – A big maybe. But it wouldn’t hurt.
  • Aura Battler Dunbine – By all intents and purposes, I should gobble this one up.
  • Infinite Ryvius – Lord of the Flies… IN SPAAAACE
  • Stellvia – I’ve heard good things about this. Any thoughts?
  • Patlabor OAV 2 – I really like the TV continuity, so here’s to more Noa goodness.

…start being the operative word here. I think I can do the shorter ones (OAVs and 1-cour TV series) first.

Things to finish:

  • Excel Saga – Honestly this show tires me out. But I do want to see more of its craziness.
  • Hokuto no Ken – 60 more episodes is a lot, but I’m gunning for Souther’s appearance at least.
  • Blue Comet SPT Layzner – Up to the fansubs, at least. Seriously right up my alley, but ;_;
  • The Big O – I watched season 1, but season 2’s tomatoes scared me away. Will fight back.
  • Hidamari Sketch – I have no excuse, right?
  • Astro Fighter Sunred 2 – Lazy.
  • Saint Seiya: The Lost Canvas – Just a few episodes left, lost steam because of fansub delays. Could marathon.
  • Casshern Sins – What what I never finished this what

…some shows here are way long overdue, but I still can’t decide which to prioritize. Probably The Lost Canvas, which is easiest by far.

Things to rewatch:

  • Turn A Gundam – Remastered is gooood.
  • Neon Genesis Evangelion TV – It’s been more than 10 years? Time to hit this up again.

…keeping this to two shows so I don’t freak out.

I’ll be crossing things out once I finish them. I can’t promise a post for each show here, but I’ll try my best. It’s just that my work demands more and more from me, and I must Stand Up To the Victory.

Cheerio!

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My ever-growing backlog for the latter half of 2010

  1. Topspin says:

    I’m going to finish Black Lagoon first myself, now that the new series is being released.

    I’d say finish Casshern SINS if you aren’t expecting anything different/fancy from the first half and enjoy it’s atmosphere. I’m still waiting on ANBU for Sunred 2 myself.

    I found Stellvia alright for the characters, but if you haven’t checked out Simoun then I would personally say to try both and see which tickles your fancy more.

    Last Exile and Escaflowne are both a bit too elaborate for their own good but still worth watching. I’d watch Exile first, because I prefer it’s kinda-steampunk setting to high fantasy+mecha. You might also want to give Noein a chance if Escaflowne isn’t hitting the right notes.. but don’t expect it to be an action series.

    Lain’s one of those classics that I find tough to get into the right mindframe for, so good luck. Definitely worth the watch, though. I’m hoping to finally watch Dennou Coil.

    • schneider says:

      I’ve seen Simoun, and found it fantastic. If Stellvia is going to be similar, then I’m in for a treat.

      I caught a bit of Noein in my local TV anime channel. I wasn’t really drawn into it, but it was rather interesting.

  2. otou-san says:

    60 MORE episodes of Kenshiro? LOL good luck with that one, you made it much farther than I ever will.

    I also have Ryvius on my to-watch list (it’s Taniguchi right? seems like a good idea), and Casshern Sins mysteriously on my to-finish list as well. Probably got suicidally depressed from the first half of it to go on.

    Hard to say what you’d think of Lain, I own it but haven’t watched it since it was new, and I’m not sure if time will be kind. Some of its abstraction may actually be unwillingness/inability to tie up threads of the story. But overall I liked it, and the ABe art style is great.

    • schneider says:

      Yes, Taniguchi directed Infinite Ryvius. I halted Casshern Sins after Dio got introduced. I guess I was bored.

      Lain, I’m not sure how to approach it, but I’m 2/2 for ABe works.

  3. Canne says:

    You should really watch Last Exile ASAP. One of the greatest show ever…for me, at least 🙂

    Speaking of Kino no Tabi, I should really watch this one myself.

  4. Pingback: Tandem Thoughts – aloe, dream

  5. http://myanimelist.net/blog.php?eid=33173
    This is my backlog from last year. Half of those things are still on there and there’s more to be added to that list.

    Also, YOU DO NOT JUST *shrug* MEGAZONE. WATCH IT.

  6. So. You’re going to be skipping out on watching Occult Gakuin, Strike Witches 2 and Highschool of the Dead?

    Also, everyone watches Hidamari Sketch. No one ever watches GA Geijutsuka Art Design Class. It actually talks about art too!

    • schneider says:

      I’ll probably pick up Occult Academy mid-season.

      I’m watching Strike Witches 2.

      Don’t particularly care for Highschool of the Dead.

      • Yeah, me neither. I stoppped reading the manga around the same time the translators slowed down.

        It does get pretty good after the first few chapters when everything goes into full swing but its still not something I would choose to watch over, say, Strike Witches 2.

        Also, GA Geijutsuka Art Design Class.

  7. Shinmaru says:

    Wait, I didn’t comment on this post already? Inconceivable!

    You’re already rewatching Lain, but I will say that I rewatched it a few months back, myself, and I think it holds up pretty well. Certain aspects of the technology are dated, but that’s the case with just about every piece of cyberpunk fiction that is 10+ years old. (Neuromancer is HILARIOUSLY dated, and it’s still awesome.)

    Despite naming my blog after an Escaflowne phrase, I’m not a huge fan of the series, mostly because it gets a bit TOO insane at times, and because the romances make me want to hurl myself off a cliff. But it’s worth watching to experience at least once.

    Black Lagoon is cool, especially if you love over-the-top action flicks.

    I recently watched Infinite Ryvius and liked it a lot. A bit melodramatic at times, but that’s to be expected, given the scenario.

  8. sadakups says:

    Wow. Good luck. You have far more titles than my own backlog. Heck, that does not include all the Kamen Riders and the American TV series.

Leave a Reply

