Fallout of the North Star: The Choices We Make

Aside from crappy Korean grindfests that haven’t aged well, I dedicate a portion of my free time to playing Fallout: New Vegas. It’s a nice game, and a step up from Fallout 3.

I’m playing a character modeled after Kenshiro, from Hokuto no Ken. It’s not a stretch to link the two franchises together, and while the mod hasn’t been ported over to New Vegas yet, it’s just a matter of time. (I’m using a little item mod that provides you with the Hokuto Hyakuretsu Ken, though.)

The real challenge is acting like Kenshiro. Becoming a righteous defender of the weak isn’t that easy if you have gamer wiles. New Vegas doesn’t treat Karma (the sliding scale of good and evil in the series) as important, compared to faction reputations. Powder Gangers and Caesar’s Legion would directly conflict with Kenshiro’s values, obviously. The NCR is good for the most part, though the dissent of the New Vegas inhabitants worries me greatly. I haven’t been that far in the game to encounter other factions.

An hour or two in the game, I encountered the massacre in Nipton, which was outright horrifying. I encountered the perpetrator, and he nonchalantly explained what he had done here.

What would Kenshiro do?

Punish these mooks? Yeah. But I didn’t. I watched them walk away, because Legion Assassins are really quite potent. Just like that, I failed at my roleplaying. I’ll probably readdress this in another playthrough. And no, the sinking feeling hasn’t left me yet.

The current quest I’m doing involves the cult of ghouls in the REPCONN facility. It started out as simple–a local of the nearby town wants me to drive out the ghouls from there, because they are scary and have turned to madness. Upon further investigation, I found out that they were peaceniks for the most part, and that something else is driven their ilk insane. I head down to the basement and fight giant blue mutants, and encounter a ghoul holed up in a room. He wants me to snoop around for his friend further in the basement.

What would Kenshiro do?

I looked for the ghoul’s friend, encountered a jailer, killed him, found the body, and returned with the bad news. He runs out. Feeling better that I helped someone this time, I explore more to find the nightkin boss. I beat him to a pulp.

With the threat gone, the ghoul cult runs to the basement, and into a strange room, putting on space suits(!). I learn that their desire is to leave the Earth by rockets. The next fork in the road is helping the ghouls’ human scientist, deluded into thinking that he is a ghoul (when he’s not), wanting to sabotage the launch (and massacre all the ghouls) or letting them go.

By now I have a good idea of how messed up the world of Fallout could be. It’s exceedingly complex–the simplistic, black-and-white world of Hokuto no Ken doesn’t compare (notice how innocent villagers and evil henchmen look like two different species altogether?), and I experience a crisis of conscience every step of the way. However, it goes both ways: you have to hand it to Kenshiro, who keeps his resolve pure in his own morally-bankrupt world.

It takes a lot less restraint to play a Jagi or a Raoh, though I have never sat well with roleplaying malevolent characters. And most of the time, it’s not that hard to be the good guy.

Yep, not that hard.

This entry was posted in Anime, Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fallout of the North Star: The Choices We Make

  1. Chag says:

    Reading this has made me want to have another crack at Fallout 3. Despite having named my character Jagi in my playthrough, I ended up as mankind’s last best hope. Time for a dramatic policy change, and the unsuspecting residents of Megaton would be the first victim of Jagi 2.0’s reign of terror on the Capitol Wasteland. If only I could round up a gang of followers and kidnap women from far and wide. Actually, I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s a mod that allows you to do that, but alas, I’ll have to make do with my PS3.

  2. DoctorBaronvonEvilSatan says:

    It’s pretty cool that you do that. Lots of people go through elaborately designed worlds like the one in Fallout treating everything as just so much more experience and loot. One of the reasons why games like that are so rare.

    I never liked Kenshiro as a character all that much. The post-apoc wanderer for me would be Vash the Stampede. Look at the guy, he’s been through psychological and physical hell because he wants to live up to his ideals. Even though he’s so broken he still does his utmost to live for love and peace. He’s pretty cool.

    Also,
    Cataclysm is coming to Azeroth.
    Come join me in World of Warcraft and you can pretend to be a big bad ass walking a post apocalyptic world! And you can make a difference when you beat up a bad guy too!

    • schneider says:

      Vash is cool, yeah.

      FWIW, I quit Neverwinter Nights around the 3rd chapter. Roleplaying a video game is pretty tough, all things considered.

      WoW? I think I’ll pass…

      • DoctorBaronvonEvilSatan says:

        There wasn’t much roleplaying to be had in NWN anyway.
        Fallout and Arcanum was where it was at. I still have a copy of Arcanum.

  3. ETERNAL says:

    It struck me while playing Fallout 3 (and to some extent Fable 2) that the whole idea of interacting with the story in adventure games can work out really well. I’ve never tried role-playing in any of these games but they present you with enough moral dilemmas either way. I usually treat them as if I’m the protagonist, rather than viewing it as a game and choosing whichever options give me stronger weapons. The bitter aftertaste of failing to uphold your values, letting villains go, or accidentally killing innocents (it can happen!) is all part of the fun. I wonder how Hokuto no Ken would have worked out if it took place in Fallout’s world 😛

  4. ToastCrust says:

    lol, I’m a bit late in reading this

    I wonder how tough it’d be to play Toki xD Or maybe Juuza

  5. Pingback: Fallout New Vegas: Kino’s Journey ~Courier Days~ 001 – Conception & Aesthetics | Transistor Glamor

Leave a Reply

