12 Moments of 2010 #8: The Tatami Galaxy’s OP-ED switch

This post is part of the 12 Days series.

I will remember The Tatami Galaxy fondly as my first Masaaki Yuasa show, which turned out to be one crazy ride with an excellent ending. Still, my moment is how the OP and ED switched places in the final episode, so that a plethora of morose geometric shapes (now blue) start off Watashi’s catharsis and redemption, which ends with a winding tour around a grubby dormitory (of life).

As the lyrics of the then-OP, now-ED say:

To repeat this moment of ours again but properly
At some point I would meet you
Until the day I grasp those days I march on

From hope to despair, this switcheroo reverses the recurring pattern throughout the show in one fell swoop. It’s just perfect on many levels.

This entry was posted in 12 Days, Anime and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 12 Moments of 2010 #8: The Tatami Galaxy’s OP-ED switch

  1. ToastCrust says:

    Definitely one of my favourite moments from that season.

  2. sadakups says:

    Definitely one of the best anime experiences I had, and of course, the best song I heard in a while.

    Well, I’m a fan of the band that did the OP, that’s why. 😛

    • schneider says:

      I’m an Ajikan fan as well, though probably not as devoted as you. But this show introduced me to the wonderful Etsuko Yakushimaru, so I am forever grateful to it.

Leave a Reply

