12 Moments of 2010 #7: Transhomers, More Than Meets the Eye

This post is part of the 12 Days series.

Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt has been a fun weekly watch, where 90% of the enjoyment is gained from asking “what will Imaishi and his crew do next?” and staying around to be blown away by their answers.

Indeed, one of the standout parts for me is episode 7A, which does a full-blown Transformers parody. My earliest memory of the franchise is watching rented laserdisc videos in my grandfather’s house. They were about Rodimus Prime and friends, and I did not have the opportunity to watch G1 until a couple of years later.

Because of that, I didn’t come to hate Rodimus Prime, dubious as his place may be in the Transformers fandom. Imagine my surprise when he was featured in this episode, as the Transhomer that Panty turns into.

This episode is one demented ride that happily violates my childhood in all of its virgin orifices. There are at least three instances of robots plugging each other’s holes, a transforming sex toy, idiotic conflicts that hurl lasers across the length of one small room with no one getting hurt, and a reconstruction of the legendary animated movie’s key scenes. The less said about Bayformers, the better.

And that transformation scene? Almost perfect. Should have shown Stocking in robot form, too!

 

This entry was posted in 12 Days, Anime, Mecha and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 12 Moments of 2010 #7: Transhomers, More Than Meets the Eye

  1. Chag says:

    Ah yes, the transformers episode, my favourite P&S episode by far. Though I lived and breathed transformers toys when I was younger, I am not at all familiar with the cartoons. This may be because I’ve forgotten it all, but more likely than not, I was probably too engrossed by the battling robots to pay any attention to plot. With the toys in hand and the TV in front of me, I would make these ridiculous “chu-chu-chu” noises as I transformed my toys in tandem with the transformations on screen. As such, I didn’t recognize Rodimus either. Not that I minded — the Stockingcons are where it’s at. Stocking’s sinister and blocky face… priceless.

    While Bayformers and P&G both laid waste to our wellsprings of nostalgia, it’s interesting how enjoyable one is and how downright painful the other is. Michael Bay seriously need a sense of fun infused in his movies, because I doubt anyone gives a shit about the love life of Shia LaBeouf’s character, or how grand and macho the US military is, for that matter.

  2. DoctorBaronvonEvilSatan says:

    I didn’t expect a PSG post from you.

    Did you miss Stocking being all Megatron in this episode?

Leave a Reply

