The Summer Triangle (or something I wrote to keep myself sane in these lonely hours of convalescence)

Last night I queued up for almost two hours in a taxi stand, inebriated and due for a most terrible stomach flu (to say little of the tongue-lashing my parents gave me when I returned home at 2 AM). To pass time, I started looking for the Summer Triangle, which was unfortunately not present in the city skies.

My friend told me that I would have to go to the countryside, in the fields, to ever get a good view. The city is too full of artificial lights and pollution to properly make out most stars. That explains why Hitagi had to drag Koyomi out of town for some stargazing. Perhaps I should try that some time, before it’s too late.

The other Summer Triangle-related thought that crossed my mind was the Haruhi short story, Bamboo Leaf Rhapsody. I find it better read than watched, as it allows me to fill in the blanks more, and ponder Haruhi’s message with the immediacy of moving pictures removed. All her annoying bossiness aside, Haruhi wanted to mark her existence to would-be spectators, and that is a sentiment I could sympathize with.

What if Haruhi’s conceit proved to be true? That somewhere far away, someone was indeed spying on the fields of North High, and understood what was being written. Wouldn’t that be so nice? While Haruhi is a light novel aimed at teens, it does capture the essence of science fiction very well.

I hope you all forgive me for babbling like this, as my entire digestive system complains if I eat anything other than bananas, and it’s driving me mad. Until then!

This entry was posted in Anime, Books, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Summer Triangle (or something I wrote to keep myself sane in these lonely hours of convalescence)

  1. Oh, I hope you feel better!

    I’m trying to remember that episode and I really don’t. I’ve only watched the anime, not read the novels, so which season was it in?

  2. 2DT says:

    I’m sure you must be over it by now, but how about banana cream pie? 🙂

    I’ve heard that Metro Manila is so smoggy that you can walk a few blocks and end up looking like someone sprayed soot on you. Once you get away from that and look up, the view’s amazing. Actually kind of terrifying, if you’ve never gone out and really seen stars before.

    • schneider says:

      I don’t have the facilities to make a pie, sadly.

      The harsher streets of Manila are very smoggy, but elsewhere it’s not too bad. I work in a place that’s quite clear of it. I would really like to go and see the stars in the countryside, but I sure wouldn’t do it alone…

  3. DoctorBaronvonEvilSatan says:

    Manila = Cyberpunk adventure
    Outside Manila = Call of Cthulhu adventure

    Prepare accordingly.

Leave a Reply

