SaiMecha: Making A Case For Sinanju

SaiMecha is down to its Elite Eight now, and the most exciting match, IMO, is VF-1 versus Sinanju. It’s a match between old and new, mass-produced and advanced prototype, missile and beam, Macross and Gundam.

I want the Sinanju to win against the VF-1, and to win the whole tournament.

Why? Because the alternative outcome, the VF-1 winning, is boring.

Think about it for a while. VF-1 is the mecha Cowboy Bebop. If we had some sort of SaiAnime, Bebop would rise to the top very easily, because it’s an excellent show with a wide mainstream appeal. Perfect for garnering a huge amount of support, no? I can think of a few shows that could give it a worthy matchup, but they, too, are the same names that will always come up in top 10 anime lists. Also, these top 10 anime lists are boring.

The VF-1, for all its virtues and contributions to the genre, is a boring winner.

Why? The Valkyrie is too well-liked, too free of glaring flaws. It’s too safe. I think it has a very good shot at making the top. But I find its matchups none too polarizing. Either people vote the Valkyrie because they love it, or they hate-vote against the other robot. This isn’t interesting to me.

The Sinanju is a superb piece of mechanical design, but it doesn’t have the VF-1’s legendary status. It’s riveting enough to earn the praise of many a Gundam fan (and mind you, Gundam fans are very hard to please), but it’s far from being on a pedestal.

Just look at some of the comments on it:

That other thing doesn’t even look like a Gundam. It looks like a Michael Bay Transformer. That’s even worse than a Gundam.

because when it comes to real robots mass produced grunts are always better than Super Robot wannabe prototypes or ace customs

an anorexic Sazabi

A somewhat more worthy, but equally WRONG, opponent, the Sinanju is like its owner: fat. Fatty fat fat. Seriously, this thing needs to join Jimmy Tango’s Fatbusters.

Compare the reasons on why people voted for the VF-1:

Because I am still a Valkyrie fag.

Love the Sinanju’s design, but the Macross unit is iconic.

VF-1 of course! Sinanju *is* the coolest looking Zeon mech I’ve ever seen, but VF is a VF.

Macross Fag inside me shouting “VF-1!VF-1!VF-1!VF-1!”

It’s rather amusing that voters nitpick on the Sinanju’s flaws (for contradicting reasons anyway), while the rest auto-vote for the VF-1. Some VF-1 supporters do admit that the Sinanju is indeed great, but a Valkyrie is a Valkyrie, and they’ll vote for it. There is nothing wrong with the latter sort of people, nor do I take their vote against them. However, this massive bloc vote doesn’t make SaiMecha interesting. Myself, I’m a huge Gundam fan, but I don’t think twice about voting against Gundam mecha, if I decide that the other robot is much more worth it!

It sounds counterintuitive, when people would just vote what they want to win. But this is my theory:

The main purpose of polls (and publicity events in general) like SaiMecha is not to make the “best” or most well-loved contender win, but to gather the greatest amount of interest that it possibly could. Whatever gets to the top is largely irrelevant, but the size and disparity of the voter turnout is. How hard can it get people to discuss it?

In such an ideal world, each match is patronized by a lot of people, and all victories are closely-won, with no lopsided percentages.

This is exactly the rationale I had in mind while writing Digiboy’s 2010 Acadime Awards for Best Mecha Design. I admit that I am partial towards the winner, Delphine from Broken Blade, but I went with it because I found Delphine’s concept and design to be the most interesting among the contestants.

The best mecha doesn’t need a poll to prove its pedigree (snarky answer: most people have bad taste anyway). The best-loved mecha won’t lose its fans if it ever lost some poll. But if either of the two won, then it would be anticlimactic. Now, if a lesser candidate managed to win, then that’s something. How and why did it manage to win?

And this is where Sinanju comes in. I think it’s a great mecha design, and even greater inside the context of Gundam. The Sinanju is simple at a glance, it doesn’t have any fantastic gimmicks that Gundam mecha love to employ, but its details make it exceedingly complex. Hajime Katoki pulled all the stops for this one. It’s ornate without being garish, and demands the best from animators or model kit builders.

It’s a high-performance machine. High-performance machines draw the ire of mecha fans because they rule the battlefield unchallenged. But the Sinanju doesn’t steamroll in its own show, it’s definitely no Strike Freedom Gundam or 00 Raiser. The rest is just haters blowing things up.

I think its polarizing effect makes Sinanju a very relevant candidate in the tournament. We need more adversity. We need more hate-voting and hate-campaigning. Publicity is king! Voting for or against the Sinanju is making a statement either way, bigger than every other vote in the tournament.

Perhaps it says something about me when I deem SaiMecha to be an important vehicle in fan discourse when it comes to mecha. Whatever wins, I don’t really care. People arguing, debating, loving, hating, making a buzz about different mecha? Yes, please.

“But Schneider, I’m not interested in popularity poll meta!” you might say.

Sinanju is also at the forefront of mecha anime today. It’s been said since 2009 that mecha anime is declining, because the number of mecha TV series have decreased significantly. These people are right and wrong. True, there are fewer mecha TV shows now, but most mecha productions have just switched to the OVA/movie format.

And you know what? This is actually great! A production staff has more time and money to devote the requisite amount of care into a mecha anime. A lot of other genres could get away with low production values, but mecha couldn’t. If a robot looks shitty, it will look extremely shitty.

Gundam Unicorn is not even finished yet. We have no idea whether the succeeding episodes will make or break the series as a whole. But I can tell you with full confidence that I have never been as excited as a mecha fan until now. To me, this potential and possibility of a show exceeds my notions of “which is the spiffier robot”.

Sinanju is that red streak of light bisecting the cold loneliness of space. For the future of mecha! And more drama!

*****

For another take on this matchup (and more delicious meta), ghostlightning makes a strong case for the VF-1.

Also, EO has his own biased voting guide, with more images than I can possibly trust myself to use in a post.

This entry was posted in Anime, Mecha, SaiMecha and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to SaiMecha: Making A Case For Sinanju

  1. Chag says:

    I gotta admit: my initial reaction to this matchup was to vote for the VF-1, but after stopping to think about it a bit, it becomes pretty apparent that the greatest draw of the VF-01 (f0r me) is its historical significance to the genre rather than the actual design. From an aesthetic standpoint, I like the Sinanju better. I also don’t mind the ornamentation, and I like that it wastes no room on retarded gimmicks, rather focusing on what it’s supposed to do — a fast and efficient hitter.

    But with that said, I’m amazed the Sinanju has made it this far into the competition. With so many prolific entries that represent entire franchises, I would’ve thought the Sinanju’s charms would be crushed under the waves of nostalgia and franchise loyalty. Newcomers like the Sinanju face overwhelming odds when placed next to the likes of the Zaku II, Mazinger Z, and the VF-1. But you are right — the main goal of SaiMecha is to draw public interest for the the purposes of good fun and discussion, and to that end it has succeeded very well.

    So fuck it, the Sinanju did well to get this far into the competition, and I have always liked rooting for the underdog. I love both mechs in this matchup, but the uproar that a Sinanju victory brings would spice up the competition even further. Brb, voting for the FUN choice!

    • drmchsr0 says:

      To be honest, both designs are pretty nice.

      I quite like the Sinanju when I first clapped eyes on it, and let’s face it, the VF-1 HAS aged rather gracefully. Pointy bits be darned. I’ve also mentioned on the thread itself, but the VF-25, no matter how sexy it looks, is nothing but an updated VF-1. Oh, suuuuuuuuure, the head is sexypants and all, but what the VF-25 did, the VF-1 already did a long time ago.

      If you really wanted a real departure from the VF-1, I’d suggest the VF-17, VF-19, VF-21 and VF-23 over the VF-25. The VF-17 is a STEALTH FIGHTER, the VF-19, well, its famous younger brother needs no mention and the VF-21 and VF-23 represents a real departure from Macross norms. Not only do they LOOK different, but some of them are vastly deviating from the Macross norms.

      SHUT UP MAN THE VF-19 FIRE VALKYRIE IS A SUPER ROBOT.

      • WhatSht says:

        the Vf-25 looks like the SV-51 in Jet mode, doesn’t really resemble the VF-1, but i must say, it is literally a upgraded VF-1
        Proof: By far the most impressive capability of the VF-25 is the valkyrie’s amazing operational versatility, owing much to a design philosophy similar to that of the original VF-1 Valkyrie.
        BUT, the Vf-25 wasn’t based on the VF-1, its based on the YF-24
        Proof: Designed from the YF-24 prototype
        both proofs are taken from the Macross Mecha Manual.

      • One of Macross 7’s great sins is the VF-17:

        Designed that way for passive stealth.

        THERE IS NO

        PASSIVE

        STEALTH

        IN

        SPACE.

  2. drmchsr0 says:

    OH LAWKS WHAT HAVE I DONE I HAVE MADE SAIMECHA FANFICTION AND I AM GPOING TO UNLEASH IT INTO THE WORLD.

    The Adventure Of The Bear

    ghostlightning and ExectutiveOtaku were out for a OH, THE PERSONAL DATA, IT’S LEAKING OUT~ Valentine’s walk THIS IS SPARTA. As they went, ExectutiveOtaku rested his hand on ghostlightning’s right butt cheek. It was the most romantic walk ever. But even though the day was so cockroach, ghostlightning was filled with VF-1S dread.

    “Do you suppose it’s white here?” he asked revoltingly.

    “You black silly,” ExectutiveOtaku said, tickling ghostlightning with his JunichiHeart. “It’s completely yellow.”

    Just then, a lovingly Bear leapt out from behind a swimsuit and Sinaju’d ExectutiveOtaku in the left nostril. “Aaargh!” ExectutiveOtaku screamed.

    Things looked Carl Gustaf. But ghostlightning, although he was red, knew he had to save his love. He grabbed a shinn87 and, as if a duck puked all over the canvas, sold it for mad cash and proceeded to hire an army of gay hookers to violate his ass, beat the Bear dirtily until it ran off. “That will teach you to Sinaju innocent people.”

    Then he clasped ExectutiveOtaku close. ExectutiveOtaku was bleeding rambunctiously. “My darling,” ghostlightning said, and pressed his lips to ExectutiveOtaku’s armpit.

    “I love you,” ExectutiveOtaku said ANAL PENETRATION, and expired in ghostlightning’s arms.

    ghostlightning never loved again.

    • schneider says:

      I’m not sure what to do with this comment. It’s rather poorly-written, even for a fanfic. But whatever.

      • drmchsr0 says:

        I apologize for this, it was meant to be a terible threat 😦

        • Matt Wells says:

          I read filth like this every Friday on Topless Robot: we don’t need it here in our noble and godly discussion of all things giant robots.

          Bravo for the chutzpah in writing it though.

  3. Vendredi says:

    Hey now, don’t drag Daguza’s heroic sacrifice into the petty politicking. It’s actually rather funny to see both spectrums of the Sinaju criticism – some think it a pale, thinned out imitation of the Sazabi, and other people think it too fat on the other hand. You just can’t please everyone…

    • Matt Wells says:

      No people think its OWNER is fat, not the mech itself. Most people think the Sinaju is too pointy and and a lame imitation of the Sazabi, while its pilot is a Fatty McFat-Titts.

      • Reid says:

        I don’t really think Frontal looks so fat…I think he looks like Char with goofy hair.

        • Matt Wells says:

          Muttonchops. They make you look fatter.

        • Reid says:

          Or more like Lemmy from Motorhead, in which case muttonchops make you look totally righteous. Maybe a Char-custom Mazinkaiser SKL is in the cards! ^-^

        • Matt Wells says:

          Fuck YES. JAPAN. GET WORKING ON THIS. LEMMY KILLMEISTER CUSTOM MAZINKAISER SKL KIT. YOU CAN THANK REID LATER WITH PILES OF MONEY.

      • schneider says:

        I don’t know where you’re hanging out, but in my corner of the Internet, the Sinanju is rather well-liked. But I haven’t been to /m/ for the past couple of years…

        • Matt Wells says:

          No, I meant people who dislike the Sinaju do so for the rather flimsy reasons I just espoused. The majority reaction to the Sinaju is one of love, this was all me talking. Sorry for not making that clear or poorly wording it.

    • schneider says:

      dood that wasn’t Daguza, that was a Sinanju hater! You can’t even see his face!

  4. Matt Wells says:

    Can’t believe my comment made it to the anonymous wall of hate! Yay me! But all seriousness, I voted for the VF-1 because I personally dislike the design of the Sinaju, not out of any nostalgia for the VF-1. I like your Bebop comparison; a rightful winner it would be, but its a winner everyone saw coming a mile off. If it wins, it WILL be a boring winner. And I still think the Sinaju is just a Sazabi with Body Issues and puke purges 🙂

    • schneider says:

      I found the Sazabi’s fat to be ungainly, simply because it was pathetically outmatched when it fought the Nu Gundam. Not to mention it wasn’t really the type of mobile suit that suited its pilot.

      • Matt Wells says:

        Annnnd you’ve hit the nail on the head with the Sazabi. Really, any mech that chubby has no right to be piloted by the Red Comet, regardless of its supposed capabilities. The very fact that people label the Sinaju as the Sazabi’s successor cements my dislike of it for design aesthetics.

        Your argument is sound, however. Your evaluation of the Sinaju as a machine philosophically perfect for Char (speed and performance over Newtype gimmicks) did a lot to improve it in my eyes, but its heritage to perhaps the worst Zeon mobile suit of all time is enough to blind me with hate. Had Char piloted something like the Sinaju, his final battle with Amuro may well have been different…

  5. WhatSht says:

    my reason for voting for the Vf-1 is in there, i like the design of the Sinanju, but i’m playing wayyyyyy too much Macross Triangle Frontier on my PSP, shooting zentradi, protodevlins, vajuras, shooting tons of Itano Circus just for 1 target, blah blah blah.
    Another reason for me to vote for the VF-1: Max made it wear a zentradi uniform in the toilet of an enemy ship, all just using some pedals, buttons, and joysticks.

  6. otou-san says:

    I haven’t actually seen Unicorn so I have no real place voting for it, but I’m interested: Do you feel the same way about the Zaku? The Escaflowne match is such an apples-and-oranges thing that maybe it doesn’t matter, but isn’t it fairly iconic in its own right?

    • schneider says:

      I am not really sure on the Escaflowne’s mark on [mecha] anime fandom in general, but the Zaku is a huge icon. It stands for the common grunt, Zeon, monoeye design, etc etc. It’s a tough match too, but not as titanic as this one.

      In the end, I voted for Escaflowne, because I crave for robot knights more than anything. I think the Zaku will still win, though!

  7. The VF-1 winning is the opposite of boring. It’s because it will win due to the acknowledgment of its superior design: how everything is a functional perfection. Every horn it has, has a purpose: to shoot at things.

    The horn on the Sinanju signifies it’s a leader of other Sinanjus… oh wait, IT’S A SUPER PROTOTYPE! THERE ARE NO OTHER SINANJUS TO LEAD. Let’s keep the horn anyway… the RX-0 has a big fucking one.

    The Sinanju’s detail and flourishes while likable (for fans like me), are purposeless gaudiness.

    NICE SLEEVES BRO.

    • schneider says:

      Laser horns are too brittle. The Alt Eisen has the best horn, but fags voted it out!

      The issue I have with Valkyries is that you don’t need the plane form in space. It becomes a swooping X-Wing treating space as an atmosphere. I don’t have a beef with that conceit (sure looks nice), but it’s a leap from, say, Babylon 5.

      • Reid says:

        My beef with the whole Variable Fighter idea is that it can’t seem to make up its mind between being a fairly realistic plane with legs and a gun (like in Orguss) or an F-14/F-15 that transforms into a highly unlikely human shape that doesn’t really look like it could maintain any kind of structural integrity if used within the atmosphere. Now, if, like you said, it was actually built like a space ship and not a terrestrial fighter jet, I wouldn’t have as much issue. Ghost tried in his kind and wise way to explain to me this was done so that a VF could take advantage of both the thrust of a jet and still have the ability to cover a wider angle of fire due to its arms and hands. Then we get into the whole “giant human vs giant robot” thing. I’m cool with this as an explanation of why a VF “needs” to look and move like a humanoid but it rankles me how the whole idea for the robot takes three really cool ideas: a conventional fighter plane, a semi-plausible jet with legs and arms (best idea for an anime mecha ever) and a cool-looking robot with jet details like wings and engines for legs. It’s the combination of all these things in a a single transformable machine that bothers me. It’s no wonder why Hasbro jumped all over the VF-1 to make it into a triple changer Transformer.

        • It has structural integrity due to the magic ingredient “overtechnology” c/o the Supervision Army.

        • Reid says:

          Oh ok. I don’t really know what I thought the “overtechnology” did, but that’ll do for an explanation. Hand-waving saves the day in most robot-related material, so that goes a long way toward making me appreciate Macross a little more. Thanks for setting me straight once again, good sir.

  8. Reid says:

    Finally another Sinanju supporter. While I already had my pathetic attempt at rationalizing my choice ripped apart by ghostlightning (in the kindest way possible – top notch guy, that ghostlightning), I can’t take the vote back so now I’m stuck with finding another, more honest reason for throwing my support behind the Char custom to rule all Char customs – and perhaps, by extension, the ace custom/super prototype to rule all of what ghost calls “wannabe super robots” in real robot anime.

    Here goes:

    Sinanju became my favorite mobile suit when I first saw it. I didn’t understand why initially, but now it’s become quite clear. I like it because it’s a Zeon-styled Gundam – the most (super)heroic of all real robots. It’s proportions are leaner and more fussily detailed than the typical grunt MS, even among the spike-and-horn loving Zeon suits. However, I think that if we stripped away all the gaudy spikes and red paint, what we’d actually have is a rather plain-looking Gundam-shaped MS. Before we jump to conclusions, all this explanation should not be misinterpretted simply as “Reid favors Gundam to all others;” I promise there is a bigger point to make.

    Gundams are the hero of Gundam stories, it says so right there in the title. No Zeon/enemy suit can ever be anything but a villain or the “misunderstood protagonist” in these works, much like how in the majority of military avaiation-themed fiction a Russian plane will almost invariably wind up in the hands of a villain. Even the AGX-04 Gerbera Tetra from “0083: Stardust Memory” was really the GPO4, and it was piloted by the antagonist/villain Cima Garahau (and she got impaled and blasted to bits by the hero’s huge mobile armor). The difference between Gerbera and Sinanju is that there is not even a vestigial resemblance to a Gundam left in the former but the latter retains all the “heroic” proportions of a Gundam, even if it doesn’t have the “Gundam look.” It’s very clear that the Sinanju is based on the Sazabi in an in-story symbolic nod to the late Char Aznable’s famous final mobile suit, but in a real-world, figurative sense the Sinanju represents a shift from pure villain to “antagonist.” The Sleeves are actually finally fighting the good fight of Zeon rem Deikun – equal representation of space-born people – that was so flagrantly abandoned in favor of conquest by the Zabi ruling family and used a convenient excuse for a pissing contest by the monomaniacal real Char. Full Frontal’s Sinanju (the antagonist) is just as much a “hero” as Banagher Links’ Unicorn Gundam (the protagonist) in a real-world context, but in the context of the story’s fictional universe the Sleeves are arguably the more heroic and noble. What does the Unicorn represent but a super-weapon that uses technology to kill the spacenoids’ old trump-card, the Newtype? It, like the Federation that built it, is the real villains here, a weapon used to repress the rights of a branch of humanity solely on the basis that those people were born in space instead of on Earth. Banagher is a good kid, but he’s selfish and rash – like Char. Full Frontal willingly takes on the mantle and name of the most hated man in the history of the (fictional) world: the maniac who tried to wipe out the earth’s ecosystem by dropping numerous space colonies and asteroids on it.

    If, as ghostlightning said, Gundam tends to make its MS units an extension of their pilots’ fighting spirits in a very super robot-like fashion, then it is not fair to look at the Sinanju as anything other than the banner behind which space colonists rally in a finally just cause. Sinanju is a pretty MS, there’s no doubt about it, and I can acknowlege that. At a surface level, it may seem audacious and superfluous in its detailing, but I think that if we look a little closer we can at least make an arugment that this is all intentional within the confines of the story. Sinanju is the dream of spacenoids realized and it’s Gundam-like proportions point to it as the “hero” MS, even if the side it fights for is the acting antagonist.

    That was a novel, and I’m sorry. I hope I didn’t say anything really stupid-sounding.

    • Tsk tsk.

      The Sleeves aren’t fighting the good fight.

      They’re terrorists. They’re looking for that silver bullet (La+ box) to magically destroy the Federation. They aren’t so much trying to liberate the oppressed colonies but rather capitalizing on Zeon sympathies. And by Zeon, I mean (Gihren) Zabi.

      Who do you think represents the Sleeves?

      Full Frontal or Mineva Zabi?

      Mineva Zabi is the one fighting the good fight. Cardeas Vist was very careful to not give the Key to a group whose short-sightedness ends at resurrecting Zeon. Anyone who is capitalizing on the Char persona is doing exactly that.

      As from the transition from villain to antagonist, that happened in 1979 in the form of Char Aznable. Char would not have been as fascinating without this complexity. He was the antagonist the viewer rooted for, as he took out the villains in the form of the Zabi family.

      Perhaps the mecha did not reflect it, because the Zeong clearly looked like a villain unit as did the Sazabi. But the Sazabi HAD to look like that, because the last image of Char wasn’t in a Zeong, but heroically fighting the good fight against both Paptimus Scirocco and Haman Karn in his overmatched golden Hyaku Shiki (hero robot, if I ever saw one). Neo Zeon Char cannot have that kind of sympathy.

    • Matt Wells says:

      I liked your reasoning, even if I personally disagreed with your conclusions. Well written and played sir. 🙂

      • Matt Wells says:

        In response to Reid above me, not Ghostlightning, though Ghostie’s evaluation of the Sleeves is closer to my view of them. I never considered that the Sazabi’s design was an intentional indicator of Char’s ideological shift, but given the context it seems obvious.

        And Full Frontal doesn’t take on Char’s mantle like a poisoned chalice; he does so entirely to achieve and serve his own ends, just as Char himself would. I love the idea of the Sinaju as a deliberately “heroic” mech for the Spacenoids, fantastic concept!

    • schneider says:

      I don’t really read the Sleeves like you do, as they still resort to shady methods and stuff, even if they’re quite neutered when it comes to villainous acts. The show does portray them sympathetically, but I don’t find them fighting a good fight at all.

      Like ghostlightning said, I look to Mineva as the one who could correct all the fail that Zeon had unleashed upon the world.

      But good call on Sinanju being a “heroic” mech. It’s something I can see, though the livery still does put a sinister edge to it. Not to mention it really looks scary in some shots.

  9. Reid says:

    Maybe I would have been better served to have read the novels (don’t ask me how I’d get ahold of an English translation) but I hope I wasn’t superimposing my desires for a “heroic antagonist”/anti-hero on Full Frontal just he’s the “second coming of Char.” In all seriousness, can you guys provide me with some explicit information regarding The Sleeves’ true intentions. I’ll admit I haven’t watched the third Unicorn episode and it’s been forever since I saw the first two, so I could have mised something, but it seemed to me like they were the first “honest” Zeonic movement. However, there’s no denying that their terrorist angle rankles me a little bit – it certainly stands in stark contrast to Mineva’s modus operandi. However, I stand by my evaluation of Sinanju as a “heroic” MS for the spacenoids. It could easily be the protagonist of a new Gaia Gear-like show or a stand-in for Hyaku Shiki had Zeta not happened like it did. That is to say, if Char had become the hero and not a mentor to Kamille, Sinanju would have been a perfect suit for him. Much better than the Red-painted Zeta Gundam we likely would have gotten.

    • Matt Wells says:

      I think its deliberately shown that way: we see the Sleeves as Banagher is introduced to them, simple, decent enough people with a goal they need to achieve. Makes it far more morally grey than the regular Nazis IN SPACE. It stands in great contrast to the “faceless asshole” persona most of the higher ranking Federation members have in Unicorn, though episode 3 tipped the balance to equilibrium.

      Their actual goal has yet to be properly defined, but as a potted description goes, I think they worded it as the ressurection of Zeon. After 20 odd years, they have still yet to learn and move on from the mistakes of the Zabis; they think they need a new symbol or super weapon, and the last quarter century or so of defeats and humilliation can be overturned. They want to return to the glory of the past, rather than face the future and make life better for spacenoids the sensible, DEMOCRATIC way.

      [spoiler removed] Please think about those who could read this — schneider

      That said, Unicorn is only at the halfway point, much can happen and change, and seeing as the dicks lucky enough to read the Unicorn novels aren’t spoiling anything…we’ll just have to wait and see. And I don’t think you’re projecting: the Sinaju genuinely does come across as a heroic Gundam style MS to inspire the Spacenoids, I just didn’t see it till you pointed it out. Thanks!

      • Reid says:

        It’s always a pleasure to hear back from you, Matt. Even in the silliness of SaiMecha (or is that deadly serious business?!) you always have something insightful to say. I appreciate it, really.

        About the Sleeves attempting to start up another war: It doesn’t seem to me like that is their objective. Instead, I think they’re just after the Laplace Box so that the original Federal Charter guarentees the rights of spacenoids, which is an incredibly noble cause by my estimation. If the Federal government is actively repressing the individual sovereignty of space colonists, which they definitely have, then the Sleeves’ actions (which so far don’t involve anything as drastic as a colony drop or full-scale war – they don’t have the capabilities for either) are justified in my mind. They haven’t killed any civilians yet, which is a big plus in my book. Is it Frontal’s plan to capture Mineva and use her as a figurehead to restart the Zabi monarchy? I don’t really think so. If he’s a memory clone of Char, then it stands to reason he wouldn’t want an absolute monarchy (not that I think Mineva would go for that plan anyway). Zeon was a republic before it was a dictatorship and I think that Frontal, being for all intents and purposes a guy “weighed down by the gravity” of Char’s memories that he’s forced to carry around, would genuinely want spacenoid autonomy. I think it could happen. Of course, going by the future of the UC as it appears from F91 to Victory and beyond (Gaia Gear? G-Savior?), we KNOW this won’t happen, so I expect something big in the second half of Unicorn’s run. Things are gonna get exciting for sure.

        • Matt Wells says:

          Always a pleasure to hear your comments in return, you are a man of taste and distinction. But as everybody knows, SAIMECHA IZ SURIUS BIDNESS. Insightful? ME? You sure you’re not confusing me with someone else? You know, someone who ISN’T a thick twat lurking around the comments section of far, FAR better writers?

          The ultimate goal of the Sleeves and the contents of Laplace’s Box are still unkown to me, but it goes without saying that whenever Zeon is in an advantageous postion, their first response is war. We’ll see how far the Sleeves go to achieve their goals, but considering their leader HE IS A CHAR, their true goal may easily be hidden behind a mask that venerates the old ways of Zeon. And it really is refreshing to see the Federation as the villains; we’ve seen them as weak and corrupt, but never TRULY evil.

          My money is on Full Frontal pursuing an agenda entirely of his own, one that may well be to the detriment of spcenoids everywhere. We’ll just wait and see. I’m not familiar with UC in the era of F-91 and beyond, but I got the impression that the only spacenoids REALLY screwed over were the colonists of offworld planets; the closer you were to Earth, the better off your life was. The guys in Jupiter really had it rough.

      • schneider says:

        You’ll have to forgive me if I have to edit the spoiler in your comment.

        • Reid says:

          there’s a spoiler? If there is then by all means take it out. I didn’t know I was on to anything like that. My apologies.

        • Matt Wells says:

          He meant me. I really need to think more before I open my stupid trap… Sorry if I spoiled Unicorn for anyone else out there, but the first thing I did after watching the first episode was head to the TV tropes page and spoil half the plot for myself. I somewhat take it for granted that not everyone else does. Thanks for the save Schneider!

        • Reid says:

          haha I absolutely abuse TV Tropes! Any savvy (genre savvy?) consumer of entertainment media who doesn’t is wasting their time!

Leave a Reply

