The iDOLM@STER Weekly Character Rankings (2011/07/21)

1. Chihaya Kisaragi
2. Yayoi Takatsuki
3. Yukiho Hagiwara

The star of this episode gets a place out of pity.

I wasn’t fond of this episode’s conflict. Yukiho’s character-defining traits are none too believable for me, and her timid personality rubs me off the wrong way. It’s okay to be afraid of the stage in my book, but fear of men and dogs? I don’t buy it.

However, I was surprised with the Producer’s involvement in solving Yukiho’s problem. I think that he should remain in the background (and still do), but the nice little twist they set up with him and Yukiho was rather good, and redeemed the episode a little. I mean, where were last weeks’ top rankers? Miki only got a cute hat, and Iori returned to her spoiled child rut. (I kept Yayoi because she’s still the cutest to look at.)

So why is Ms. Nebbish in the top spot? She didn’t stand out either, due to Yukiho hogging everything, but her scenes were the most enjoyable. Her scene with Takane about machines and singing, that scene where she calls the Producer up the stage (which quickly cut to the next scene, a nice director flourish), and her role in the mini-concert.

What was on her mind during the song? “My God, do these bozos suck or what?” I honestly don’t know, but I want to learn more about her the most. So I guess it counts.

This entry was posted in Anime, The iDOLM@STER Weekly Character Rankings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The iDOLM@STER Weekly Character Rankings (2011/07/21)

  1. DoctorBaronvonEvilSatan says:

    Have you listened to her song, Aoi Tori, yet? I love that song. Chihaya will always be my favorite. I kind of understand how she feels.

    Also, Hibiki episode when!?

  2. Chihaya’s scenes have a very obviously calculated maturity about them, like they were cut out of one of those washed-out-visuals shows and sewn in with this one. (Not complaining, I think it’s genius.)

    Miki is on favorite autopilot for me at this point. The only reason she’s not “mai waifu” is that I imagine she’ll get seriously fat in five years if she doesn’t stop sleeping and eating at all times.

    • schneider says:

      I’d watch a whole season of such a show, if it did exist! Someone who knows her inadequacy too well earns a lot of points for me. I’ll continue cheering for Chihaya in the following weeks~

      I wonder why the country bumpkins didn’t get mad at Miki during her whole “this town is sooooooooo boring” speech. That’s kind of skirting the line, isn’t it?

  3. ubiquitial says:

    Dogs are believable. Bitten by a giant dog as a kid and still sweat like a bitch everytime I get near one.

    • schneider says:

      I’m wary of dogs too, but Yukiho just takes it to another level that I can’t help but roll my eyes. The whole point of her becoming an idol was to gain confidence, and she’s not even trying!

  4. Shance says:

    Chihaya is the character who can handle her own, so the silent air of maturity and composure is only natural. Though it does not mean that she has any authority or a dominant sense of seniority, she sure has a way to make people listen.

    As for Aoi Tori, it’s a very, very nice song:

  5. Pingback: The iDOLM@STER Weekly Character Rankings (2011/12/08) | Continuing World

Leave a Reply

