Imouto Obscura

The Daily Lives of High School Boys (or “Nichibros” for those who speak in 140 characters) is about high school boys, unsurprisingly. What’s surprising to me, however, is how it attacks the subject of female siblings.

Their faces are all shrouded!

Speaking from my own experience, I saw the sisters of my high school friends as alien, inscrutable beings. It’s not even that boyish “eww girls!” disgust. I felt nothing could be gained by trying to get to know them, so I never did. And then again, I was always the antisocial prick in high school.

Back to talking about the anime! It’s funny because it portrays how boy-centric the show is. It’s a world where the sisters are walking punchlines, where they’re called not by their own names but by their relation to the brothers. “Hey, Tadakuni’s Sister!” is already funny in itself.

Of course, the show reverses this in the post-ED part of episode 3. It works both ways!

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Imouto Obscura

  1. Digibro says:

    I still see the little sisters of my friends as such. I couldn’t tell you what any of them look like, and at least three of my best friends have them.

  2. ToastCrust says:

    I dunno, maybe it’s because I have sisters, but I remembered my friends’ sisters well enough. Now, not having seen any of them for years now, it’s kind of outside memory, but I don’t remember the faces of those friends’ very well either.

    To be honest though, I think the VAST majority of all of my friends through my public school life all had no siblings except older ones, and those were few too. The only one who had a younger sister who I can still remember was a guy my age who had a sister my youngest sister’s age (so she was a Kindergartener when I still saw her).

    So, I’ve thought this was pretty neat, but I can’t really connect it to personal experience. It might with my friends, though.

  3. WhatSht says:

    Looks interesting, maybe I’ll watch it.

  4. sadakups says:

    Actually, I have the same observation. I think It’s more of that trope of faceless characters just there for the gag and their personality isn’t really that needed. I forgot what it’s called, but it’s something like that. Interestingly enough, for a male-centric show, the female characters are actually interestingly cute.

    As for my friends’s sisters? It’s some sort of taboo to me, wherein I do not make contact with any of them since it really feels icky if let’s say, I get it on with one, for the sole reason that my friend becomes an in-law. That’s just me.

Leave a Reply

