Saki Achiga-hen is off to a great start

I teared up twice.

First time was when Harue’s backstory was revealed, when Shizuno learns that the Mahjong Club is but a temporary setup for Harue to regain her love for mahjong. It’s always heartbreaking the first time you realize that something won’t last forever. But rather than grow bitter, Shizuno wishes the best for her teacher when she got scouted.

I’ve been in a chess varsity team before, and playing any game or sport competitively requires you to play to win–which may or may not be the kind of play you really want. Sure, you could keep on moving your Knight before your Bishop, but that’s going to get you creamed sooner or later in a serious game. The slump that Harue experienced, compounded by the high expectations everyone placed on her, was something I could definitely relate to.

It’s cathartic for Harue to teach young kids the love of mahjong, because nothing quite cures one’s distaste for a game than seeing others have fun with it. Teachers are so wonderful.

Second, when Shizuno decides to go to Achiga Girls’ School to revive the Mahjong Club, so she could meet Nodoka again. Back in elementary, I didn’t have any close friends whom I would keep in touch with, despite them going to a different school, but how I wish! One of my biggest fears is watching a close friend drift away, and I’m powerless to do anything.

Well, anyway. It’s such a conceit–there’s no guarantee that the Nodoka they would meet would remember or even acknowledge their friendship. People could change drastically in a few years. (Of course, we as the audience know that Nodoka still cares about her childhood friends, but Shizuno doesn’t know that.) But this is the sort of cheese that I really like.

There’s also Ako, who ditches her safe choice of going to Bansei High and its strong mahjong team, so she could be with her friends. Ah, youth is so enviable!

In the meantime, I guess I should learn a thing or two about reach mahjong.

This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Saki Achiga-hen is off to a great start

  1. @fkeroge says:

    In the meantime, I guess I should learn a thing or two about reach mahjong.

    You should. It’s a pretty fun game. Too bad we can’t go super saiyan while playing though.

  2. omo says:

    I’ve tried to learn reach mahjong more than once but I kept failing at it. I just can’t count doras for some reason. Learning disability? I don’t know. Maybe other styles are just too hard-wired into me (I grew up with taiwanese, hk and shanghai styles)

  3. ToastCrust says:

    This summer’s going to be so fucking great.

    Did you ever watch Saki before?

  4. Shance says:

    One of my biggest fears is watching a close friend drift away, and I’m powerless to do anything.

    As someone who frequently transferred from one private school to another, I wholeheartedly share the sentiment. It’s hard to think that one day, one of your best partner in crime won’t be around anymore since either one of you will go away to attend another school. You’ll grow up and still meet sometimes. You’ll exchange numbers, have a chat and talk about what’s new in each other’s life like it was old times. But it’ll never be the same.

    • schneider says:

      It’ll never be the same, but it’s not always a bad thing. There’s plenty of ways to rekindle or retain a friendship, you only have to accept that they won’t be at your side every day.

      Wow, did I just type that myself? Man.

  5. Cytrus says:

    I recommend the Four Winds Mahjong program for beginner mahjong practice. List of yaku, tiles left to be played etc. The computer players wait forever for you to make your move. Very convenient. Easy to download from the net.

Leave a Reply

