Anime I Watched in 2012 #10: Jintai

Humanity has declined.

Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita, or Jintai, is one of those shows that you can appreciate without having to chew the deepest portions of to enjoy. I honestly think it’s an achievement, in the sense that it is a smart and deep show, but you don’t have to get both to like it. The entire thing is made really well, from the jumbled chronology of story arcs, the colorful presentation of oppressive themes to lend an ironic tone that combats heavy-handedness, down to Mai Nakahara‘s sardonic voice-acting, that you could enjoy them on your own. But if you peel layers and layers back, you can get engrossed with the finer details. It doesn’t demand you to think, but it teases you.

Jintai is a show where highly-advanced (fairy) technology is indistinguishable with magic, but FairyTech is written into the stories quite well, without being a Deus Ex Machina copout. The fairies also obviously know more than they’re letting on, but have different needs and wants from humans so it’s extremely difficult to get anything from them. Charming, isn’t it?

I really like the OP, and I’m not just speaking as a fan of nano.RIPE (I love nano.RIPE!). It’s cute and catchy and as misleading as Victory Gundam’s Stand Up to the Victory. I’m also trying to get some people to watch the show based on the OP alone, with mixed results.

I think my favorite episode would have to be the “shipwrecked in an island” one. It was a funny microcosm of human civilization and while I knew how it was going to end, the episode still managed to make me laugh several times.

There’s a lot to chew on for every arc in the show, and a lot more competent bloggers to write about them. Here’s my favorite reading.

This entry was posted in 12 Days, Anime and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anime I Watched in 2012 #10: Jintai

  1. Mightnare says:

    The first thing that I noticed was the colourful presentation despite the somewhat depressing title, and the fact that the main character doesn’t have a name as far as we know. That interested me a lot and as I continue on, something rare(for me, at least) happened, I felt something for the characters(Pion and Oyage), their loneliness while doing what they were programmed to do, the loneliness of space, it probably didn’t help that I was playing Kerbal Space Program back then and leaving Kerbals in space despite having enough fuel to return.
    The many parts that made me think, I can’t really list down every part without rewatching, but something I noticed is that the main character’s reactions to the various events are what we, real humans, would do if we ever encountered such things. Her just being known as “Watashi” which we know means ‘I’ could have been a reflection of us, we are watching a fellow human’s everyday life which, of course, is much different from ours.

    My tag of Jintai on my MAL: Made me laugh, think and empathise with the characters. 10/10 Perfect anime

  2. MAGICAL☆BIRDY says:

    >I love nano.RIPE!
    WAT

Leave a Reply

